Skip to content

Fantastic Friday Fiction – I

January 15, 2010

Tada! Introducing a new category in my blog: Fantastic Friday Fictions…

After all, a week began with a mind blowing Monday deserves to be ended with a fantastic Friday 🙂

imagesfriday

 

Its been a long while since I attempted fiction; even though I have come out of my writer’s block quite some time back. Just to motivate myself enough to create fictions once more, I decided to introduce this category. And before you label me as a narcissist, let me clarify that “Fantastic” qualifies only “Friday” 🙂 Whether it qualifies the fictions or not, it depends totally on my readers.

For my first edition of Fantastic Friday Fictions, I attempt, for the first time, the genre of writing known as Fiction-55. Please give me feedback regarding the two pieces written on one common theme – murder

55 Fiction is a micro-fiction within a word limit of 55 words, containing the following four elements: a setting; one or more character(s); conflict; and a resolution. Fiction 55s are usually dramatized so as to get the maximum effect within the restricted word limit. 

THE KILLER

The figure followed her in the dark alley. She sensed his steps and broke into a run. Suddenly she was lying face down on the road. A hand raised a dagger and brought it down at her throat.

“Cut. I think we should change to a sword for more drama”, remarked the Director.

 

murder

 

A MATTER OF HONOUR

“I want both my son and the girl from the low caste hacked to death”.

“It shall be done”, I replied.

I could see the two lovers in the dark, lonely park. I approached stealthily with my knife. First the son, I thought. The moment I struck him, the girl looked behind and screamed “Baba”!

 

Image copyright: http://www.flickr.com/photos/mavadam/3480359060/

17 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2010 2:10 pm

    The second one is really really good!

  2. No One permalink
    January 15, 2010 2:23 pm

    I like the first one more for obvious reasons. The second one is a bit too “over dramatic” for a 55- word -fiction.

    P.S – Write more regularly. Though I myself am a rusted wreck of a writer I see little chinks. More on that later. You are doing swell. 🙂

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 15, 2010 3:04 pm

      Thanks 🙂 glad that you liked the first one…

      Yes, I shall write more – one of my new year resolutions in 2010..

  3. January 15, 2010 3:20 pm

    Hey, they are nice. 🙂
    Really tragic. :-/

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 15, 2010 3:31 pm

      Thank you so much 🙂 Yup, they are tragic; after all I chose “murder” as the theme

  4. January 15, 2010 7:00 pm

    Ah! My favorite genre 🙂
    I liked both of them equally but the second one had a more surprise quotient than the first 🙂
    Enjoyed them !

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 16, 2010 10:38 am

      Even I agree with you about the second one 🙂 thanks!

  5. Rajrupa Roy permalink
    January 16, 2010 3:01 am

    i like the second one 🙂
    Good job!!!

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 16, 2010 10:38 am

      thank u so much 🙂 even the second one is my personal favourite…

  6. January 16, 2010 11:35 am

    Good ones. 🙂

  7. January 16, 2010 11:59 am

    Whoa!!! Awesome!
    Loved both, but second one beats the first. I like this genre. 🙂

    And thanks again, for voting me. 😉

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 18, 2010 3:31 pm

      Thanks for the compliment 🙂 and you deserved the vote hundred percent!

  8. January 19, 2010 1:10 pm

    There seems to be voting of ome sort going on in the above comments! 🙂
    Continuing that, my vote goes to the First One! Really really well written! Loved it..:)

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 19, 2010 4:45 pm

      No voting.. If you like both, you are free to air your opinion 😉 but, thank you so much for dropping by and your appreciation…

Trackbacks

  1. Fantastic Friday Fiction – II « Life's Many Whispers
  2. The End of Honour | Life's Many Whispers

Leave a comment