Skip to content

Saraswati Puja – my most favourite festival

January 20, 2010

P1230030

It’s my most favourite festival; even more favourite than Durga Puja. Especially in Bengal, Saraswati Puja has a different charm all together for a number of reasons.

Saraswati is the Goddess of Knowledge and is mainly worshipped by students, usually at homes. Call it a tradition or a religious diktat, one is not supposed to study on Saraswati Puja. Now, who needs a better reason to cast aside books for one day and have fun? and that too, legitimately! I used to place all the books of my most dreaded subjects and the pen which I would use during the final examination beside the idol for the whole day. Next day, I used to collect them, write “Om Saraswatya Nama” on a piece of paper and then start studying vigorously. After all, final examinations always used to be some 2 weeks away and I had to make up for one day of lost time 🙂

Saraswati Puja is the Valentine’s Day of Bengalis, especially for the teenaged lovers. It’s a day when they can go out of the house, spend as much time as possible with their loved ones and not be questioned by their parents. You can roam around with ten different boys throughout the year, but the one guy you will be seen on Saraswati Puja is sure to be your boyfriend! On one particular year, I was going to a friend’s house and met a common guy friend on my way, who was going to the same place. We went there together and for the next two weeks, I had to fight rumours of that guy friend being my boyfriend! After all, we were spotted together on Saraswati Puja!

I have seen so many love stories make and break on Saraswati Puja. Cupid manages to strike Bengalis in strange ways on this particular day. While I was in school, I used to visit a friend’s place every year to offer pushpanjali (offering of flowers). After the puja was over, both of us used to carry prasad to neighbouring houses. My friend had been eyeing a particular guy in her neighbourhood for quite sometime and, finally managed a chance to speak to him on a particular Saraswati Puja, when we went to his house with prasad. It should be mentioned here, that his house was a bit further down the lane and not one of the houses, where we were instructed to visit 🙂

On Saraswati Puja, girls always wear a sari, notwithstanding the fact that her age can be anything between 5 and 25 years! Saraswati Puja is probably the only festival where even young girls embrace sari in the most enthusiastic fashion. And the preferred colour is usually hues of yellow 🙂

I wore a sari for the first time when I was in class IX, on the occasion of Independence Day celebrations in school. It’s better to say that I was forced to wear a sari on that day and I returned with half the garment in my hand! Since my mom had managed to break the barrier, she insisted that I wear a sari on Saraswati Puja, later that year. I did, again with disastrous results. At the end of the day, I somehow ended up looking like I have been shooting for Draupadi’s bashtra haran scene for a movie! Hence for me, sari and Saraswati Puja were not synonymous, unlike all other Bengali girls.

The founder of my school, Gopal Krishna Gokhale was a member of Brahmo Samaj, the sect which does not believe in worshipping idols. That is why, Saraswati Puja was never celebrated in my school and this was always a big regret for me. I used to be quite jealous of my neighbourhood friends, who used to go to school on that day to offer pushpanjali and have khichdi for lunch. For all the years of missed-out fun, I more than made up for it during my law school days.

Saraswati Puja is a wholly student-managed affair in my college. Right from buying the idol, to shopping for the puja, to cooking the bhog, to even doing the puja, the students do it all. I have always taken active part in it every year. Each and every year holds special memories of the occasion for me.

P2110155

Being creatively inclined, I used to take the initiative about drawing a rangoli in front of the idol every year. I used to wake up at around 5 am, gather all volunteers and finish the rangoli before 8-30 am, before the puja is started.

rangoli P1230006

And despite all my disastrous history of managing a sari, I almost always wore one during the college celebrations 🙂 And that too, in Bengali style 🙂

P1230011 P2110158

The puja is also conducted by the students. Any interested student of any caste, creed or religion could be a part of the puja celebrations. I sat for puja for two consecutive years from my batch and it had been a thoroughly enjoyable experience. There is always one student, who knows all the rituals and guides the rest of the students through the process.

me at puja posing pujaris DSCN2115

In my final year, my first cousin got married the day before Saraswati Puja and there were a number of rituals lined up for the next day. I gave all that a miss, rushed to college, sat for the puja and then rushed back post-lunch, just in time to catch my cousin’s bidaai function. Despite all the rushing to and fro that I had to do across the length of the city that day, I was glad that I did not miss my final Saraswati Puja in campus. 🙂

Lunch in college always comprised of delectable khichdi, mixed vegetables, eggplant fry, chutney, payesh and sweets. Students line up on the floor and are served by the volunteers. Being a senior in law school always meant forcing the kid of the first year to serve extra helpings of sweets or payesh.

100_0143-2

Evenings used to be spent by organising one of the most popular programmes – inter-batch antakshari competition, where, somehow, every year, the team comprising of the final year of students used to win 🙂 Sometimes, one or two enthusiastic faculty also joined in to give a hard competition to the students.

Dinner again used to be vegetarian affair, but I, despite being the hardcore non-vegetarian that I am, for once, never complained about it 🙂

Today is Saraswati Puja – my most favourite festival. No more college celebrations for me. Moreover, it does not feel like Saraswati Puja any more.

I now have to go to office for some urgent pending work, despite it being a holiday 😦

DSCN2173-2

An edited version of this post appeared in N-Zine on their special issue on Festivals 🙂

25 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2010 7:09 pm

    This was an interesting read, specially because I didn’t know much about this colorful festival. I must say that you make very pretty rangolis! Oh, and I really believe that you look elegant in a sari.

    Too bad you had to work today, but did you at least wear a sari? 🙂

    By the way, a regular sari comes in 6 meters fabric (I think), so does it take even more fabric to wear it the Bengali way?

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 21, 2010 9:59 am

      It was nice to know that you found it interesting 🙂 and thanks for all your compliments 😉 lots of *hugs*

      No, I couldn’t possibly wear a sari to office 😦 and one can wear any regular sari in the Bengali style; it doesn’t need more fabric…

  2. January 21, 2010 10:00 am

    I always wondered if Saraswati and Lakshmi could be all rolled into one… choosing between them is such a big dilemma !
    Choosing both is a difficult proposition ..attention will get divided…and if any one gets upset..then we are pretty much doomed.!

    nice post and nice pics…miss the kolkata holiday calendar…

  3. January 21, 2010 10:51 am

    Beautifully written……here in B’lore, I was missing Saraswati Puja a lot yesterday. And now I miss it more 😦

    Memories come flooding in when you think of this day, no? For me it meant so many things when I was young….my grandfather doing the chandipath, a trip to my native place….Later on in life, it meant me hanging out with my ex-girlfriend (Ashtami, too….but for different reasons)……There are some painful memories too (love never comes without pain, no??) ….But I shouldn’t be brooding over Saraswati Puja now, will only make matters worse I guess.

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 28, 2010 11:05 am

      I share your sentiments… and your words come as proof of what I wrote – Saraswati Puja IS the Valentine’s Day for Bengalis 🙂

  4. January 25, 2010 4:55 am

    In Bangladesh, one didn’t need too many reasons to take a holiday and I believe that sense of laziness has led to communal harmony as we often used to take part in Durga Puja festivities! Your pictures remind me of the lovely feast temples used to put out on those days!

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 28, 2010 11:08 am

      I know! any festival is a wonderful opportunity for a gathering and having fun 🙂 and good food 😉

  5. Pratiti permalink
    January 26, 2010 1:37 am

    @Gyanban above: You can read Tagore’s Puroshkar for edification on Lakshmi and Saraswati. It’s beautiful. 🙂

  6. January 28, 2010 10:09 am

    That’s a nice Nostalgic post! Loved the narration. 🙂
    These Pujas have always bored me to death, but if it were like Valentine’s Day I wouldn’t mind – at all. 😉
    And even 5 year old kiddos wear saris? Oh, man! That must be very cute. 🙂
    Beautiful post.
    By the way, why are you looking so angry in your photos? Did somebody tell you that your rangolis were not good? Chill yar. They are really wonderful. 😀

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 28, 2010 1:42 pm

      Saraswati Puja is less about the puja and more about the festivities associated with it; like as I mentioned – young love 😉
      Yes, even 5 year old kid girls wear cute saris! but I never did! now I feel, I have missed out on a lot of compliments 😉

  7. Saraswati permalink
    September 17, 2010 2:10 pm

    Info : Saraswati Day in Bali will be next week – September 25, 2010

    Nice to meet you all !

    Cheers

    Saraswati

  8. October 14, 2010 7:25 pm

    Thanks a lot for sharing your Saraswati joy.
    You may be in your office, but with this message your created your own saraswati puja in my heart and those reading.
    Felt like singing today….it can only be Saraswati , she shakes out the clOwn in me ;o)

    Jai Jai Saraswati Ma

    Auummmmmmmmmmmm

  9. January 20, 2011 7:46 am

    I celebrated the very first Saraswati Puja of my life when i was in class VIII. And it was something that i still cherish. . A sense of freedom and fun with friends. And that was the first time i had Pao Bhaji at a friends place. And absolutely its the Bong Valentine’s day. Ours was a xtian missionary school. So we lost the chance of celebrating in school but the college celebrations were awesome. But after college, it has been very mundane. . Sigh

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 20, 2011 4:55 pm

      :-O Pao Bhaji on a saraswati puja!!!! That’s the weirdest combo one can have! Think Saraswati Puja and you should be remined of piping hot khichdi, fry, dahi, chutney, sweets etc etc!! 🙂

  10. Subha jit Dey permalink
    January 21, 2011 6:11 pm

    Very Good

  11. Sayan dey permalink
    February 8, 2011 10:31 am

    Beautifully written..!! Bt I must say dat u hv writn about da bong valentines day dan saraswati puja..bt ohk chalta hain..:)

  12. goutam karmokar permalink
    February 8, 2011 11:45 am

    SARASWATI PUJA IS BEST AND GOOD PUJA FOR EVERYBODY WHO SURVIVE IN OXYGEN

  13. July 1, 2013 12:57 am

    In the case for medium to significant businesses, they would
    likely subscribe to the business plan, with a free phone number,
    IP and SSL. Amazon’s New Kindle Fire – Get a discount on the latest Android gadget that has created a big buzz. Users can use the Direct – Admin control panel for their web space administration.

  14. July 1, 2013 5:25 pm

    In a seal-able container, simply scoop in the chia seeds and add the 9 tbsp
    filtered water. Eating chia seeds is just one of many sneaky ways to lose weight or maintain your weight loss.
    Chia seeds are sold in some supermarkets
    and online.

  15. March 26, 2014 3:26 am

    Wonderful article! We are linking to this
    particularly great post on our site. Keep up the good writing.

  16. Rajesh manna permalink
    February 17, 2016 8:36 am

    Very nich

  17. Rounak permalink
    January 26, 2020 8:41 pm

    i’m really proud of u didi.tumne to dilki bat bata diya…….i think u r a mother now.i’m vryy sad that u miss ur teenaged life,spent in saraswati puja.it is time for u to celebrate as a mother.take care didi.

Trackbacks

  1. Saraswati Puja – my most favourite festival « Life's Many Whispers |
  2. Wordpress reviews my blog in 2010 « Life's Many Whispers
  3. Saraswati Puja, the Bengali Valentine's day!!

Leave a comment