Skip to content

Waiting for the weekends…

January 14, 2015

Waiting for weekends has never been so exciting for me in a long time.

On the next weekend i.e. 17 & 18 January 2015 I plan to park my ass throughout in the inaugural session of Crime Writers Festival, being sponsored by Hindustan Times in Delhi. Ever since I caught the buzz on Facebook, I have kept a hawk eye upon the FB page and registered myself the moment the website became functional. It is free for all and will host a number of authors from the crime/thriller/ mystery genre  both from India and abroad. However, what I am most looking forward to are the workshops – one with Ashwin Sanghi on how to write detective fiction and one with Dibakar Banerjee and Urmi Juvekar on how to adapt a crime novel for the silver screen. Having devoured Satyajit Ray’s articles on screenplay as a child, this opportunity to actually learn nuances of script writing from a real director in close interaction (even if I do not end up writing a whole script ever) is too good for me to pass up.

CWF

The weekend after next i.e. 24 – 26 January 2015, the first of a long series of extended weekends of this year will see me run off to my favourite destination – Jaipur Literature Festival for the 3rd time! Ever since the schedule has been published, I have been crying copious tears since my current author crush, Neel Mukherjee is missing despite being in the speaker list earlier. But I look forward to hearing my another current favourite – Kamila Shamsie.

JLF

Last time I had this much fun in one month was January 2012! I am glad to see that even after 3 years, my idea of having fun still remains the same – attending literature festivals 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

