Skip to content

Goodbye 2012!

January 1, 2013

Never before have I felt so empty after bidding a year goodbye! Never before has one year been so completely, amazingly wonderful! Never before has one year given to me and my family so much to cherish and be thankful for!

I did a similar post to commemorate 2009 – the year which is memorable for both good and the bad. But 2012 has been universally good 🙂 It was as if God decided to shower his blessings as a never-ending gift in this one year!

  • NEW JOB

I have been trying to make a shift in my career for a long time. I had applied to 4 places without success. I was absolutely confident about 2 of them. In fact, in one of them I was orally told that I have been favourably considered, only the formal offer was to be given! It was a very dark phase career-wise and I was battling constantly to remain afloat and not sink into depression. But, then the best offer happened to me! May be, I was destined for this one! I quit my old job in February and joined the new one in March. As the year ends, I am 10 months into my new job and I am loving every bit of it. Thank you God for the tests that you took and the reward you gave me 🙂

  • NEW HOUSE

Though my father had purchased the new house last year, it was completed fully and finally this year. We did our Griha Pravesh puja and I have already hosted a party on my birthday there. In the new year, we hope to shift into our new 12th floor flat in a 33 Tower residential complex. It was a wondeful dream come slowly true for my family 🙂

  • NEW CAR

This was my childhood dream-come-true! After months of research and debate, I bought my own car in July this year (with a li’l help from my dear father ;-)). No more arguing with the cabbies, no more running down the stairs to slide into the relatively empty compartment of the metro, no more jostling at Rashbehari crossing for autos, no more worrying on how to return from a late-night party… I have my own transport 🙂 The bonus – people these days offer me lift till my home and not till some ‘convenient place’!

  • NEW DESIGNATION

My father has a new designation 🙂 After a gruelling GD & PI, he was one of the few hundreds who were selected from a few thousands of employees for the promotion. Congratulations! I am so proud of you 🙂

  • NEW HOLIDAY DESTINATION

At the moment, my parents are holidaying in SE Asia! They celebrated Christmas Eve at Pattaya and new year in Singapore! I am glad that they finally managed their first foreign trip 🙂

  • NEW HAPPINESS

The known and the unknown, the experienced and the unexperienced, the heart and the mind has brought so much happiness in my life this year! It seems, these days, I am happy to be just happy!

This year taught me to leave behind the unwanted, embrace the new, ignore the past, welcome the future; shed the baggages, venture into happy possibilities, not to doubt the positives and most important of all, feel the emotions.

I end this year in the hope that the new one will bring even more happiness and positive energy in our lives.

Happy New Year! Have a great one!

Happy-New-Year-Quotes-Wallpaper1-600x450

P.S. For every one of us who had a great year, there are at least 10 of them who did not. They may have suffered sexual assault and not gotten justice, may have been raped and did not survive the brutality, may have been called a liar but could not prove their case, may have been molested, beaten up, mutilated, traumatised but have battled on. My prayers are with them and all those who support and love them. May women win the battles they have been fighting since dawn.

In the new year, hope the society is a safer and happier place for the women.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. PSB permalink
    January 1, 2013 1:16 pm

    I like the way you thanked 2012 for all the ‘new’ things that happened in your life. How about thanking 2012 for not ending and in fact continuing some of the good things from 2011? These would be things which you would have had missed if they were gone…Believe that applies to us all – maybe the first thing that would come to anybody’s mind is one’s life, family to name a few – all of which we take for given. Some one had said “Yeh Zindagi kya hai, mile to mitti hai, kho jaye to sona hai” translated it means that the value of life is realised only when one does not have it…Nevertheless, I wish you all the best for 2013 and the new happiness it brings to you and your special loved ones, may your and their desires come true 🙂

  2. January 1, 2013 5:07 pm

    Happy new year..

  3. January 9, 2013 3:15 am

    Happy new year. Hoping that 2013 bring you more happiness 🙂

  4. January 9, 2013 3:15 am

    brings* (typo)

Leave a Reply

