Skip to content

An exciting “literary” month for me

January 9, 2012

I am very excited about the month of January 2012.

First – Apeejay is back with the 3rd edition of the Apeejay Kolkata Literary Festival in Calcutta, to be held from 11-15 January 2012.  The event calendar has some very interesting sessions, the most appealing for me being the following:

TRIDHARA: CHARITRA O BHUMIKA LEKHAK, NIRDESHAK, NAYAK (Character & the Role: Writer, Director, Actor)
6.30 pm, Star Theatre, Bidhan Sarani, Maniktala, Kolkata

A panel discussion on the character in literature from the point of view of the author who creates him, the director who interprets him, & the actor who enacts him.
Featuring:  Sunil Gangopadhyay, Goutam Ghose, Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury, Aparna Sen, Sandip Ray, Prasenjit, Parambrata Chattopadhyay, Raima Sen and Sabyasachi Chakraborty.

Dont’ ask me whether I am interested in the session because of the content or the people featuring, but for me, this is worth an attempt to either bunk office/lie to boss and travel to North Calcutta to attend it.

There are many more interesting events, but at unsuitable timing. Please check the schedule and decide for yourselves which one you want to catch.

Second – Finally, finally, at long last, our very own Book Fair will host a Literary Meet on all days i.e. 26 – 31 January 2012! That too, with authors like Vikram Seth, Shashi Tharoor, Ruskin Bond, Manu Joseph, Mohammad Hanif in attendance!!! With people like Imran Khan, Amish, Chetan Bhagat, Tarun Tejpal, Sarnath Bannerjee to keep you company!!! Can you believe it??

I could not till I checked out the Website, registered myself for all days and also the after-hours, when diverse cultural functions are to take place.

I wish I could take sick leave for 27th, 30th and 31st and park myself in the Milan Mela complex for the whole day! It would be a little difficult to fall sick on such random dates, but if I had not taken that personal leave for 21st, then may be…

Do I hear you asking me why have I taken a leave for 21st January 2012? Very good question, indeed.

Please brace yourselves for the final big announcement of the month of January 2012 😀 😀

Third – I am going to Jaipur to attend the Literary Festival 2012!! Finally, after years and years of staring at the event schedule and not being able to make it due to various reasons (lack of weekend/money/company), I am going to Jaipur  this yearto attend the biggest ‘book’ event of India.

The best part is that I have good company too!

All my four closest friends from law school are also coming to Jaipur from different corners of the country, just so that all of us can be together again. It is not that we have not met each other in the recent past, but all five of us have never been together ever since we left law school in 2009!

It all started with a friend in Delhi asking me to join her for this year’s Jaipur Litfest because there is a weekend in between.  An email appeal by me to all the rest immediately confirmed attendance of one more friend, beside us two. Then, a third friend decided to cancel expensive flight tickets for Mumbai to book more expensive flight tickets to Jaipur and then the fourth one announced, with great fanfare, that she, too will grace Jaipur with her presence!

Now, while I am busy daydreaming about how will it be to roam around the grounds of Diggi Palace and catch sights of Javed Akhtar, Gulzar, Wendell Rodricks, David Davidar, Amy Chua, Hari Kunzru, Girish Karnad, William Darymple, Salman Rushdie, Fatima Bhutto, Ashwin Sanghi, Prasoon Joshi, Mark Tully etc etc, my friend is busy chalking out sightseeing/shopping/eating/drinking plans in Jaipur all within the two days of our trip, even if it means adding two extra hours to a day.

I am not complaining at all. I am just too glad to be able to go to Jaipur and meet my friends and also attend the Litfest.

This is a dream month for me.

Now friends, please don’t be jealous and pray for me so that I get to attend all the three lit fests (especially Jaipur one) and shake hands with all the awesome authors. And also wish me luck so that I am invited to one of them, one day! 😉 😉

Do let me know if any of you will be there in any of the three fests, so that I can say “Hi” to you. 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2012 7:03 pm

    OK, I won’t be jealous only if you promise to write a complete account of all these activities on this blog. Good luck, Debosmita!

    Promise, I will 🙂

  2. swayambhu mukherjee permalink
    January 9, 2012 9:00 pm

    Love the spirit…and the happiness 🙂 Hope you have an awesome time 🙂

  3. Shubhanjali permalink
    January 24, 2012 12:42 pm

    OMG!!!! No amount of “don’ts” can stop me from not being jealous!!! I am from Jodhpur and work here in IBM, Kolkata. While hosting my own Literary Festival in my University in Jaipur, I almost ditched my University by secretly plotting to get to “The Diggi Palace”… But only if dreams were to come true… Phew!!! But with the heavy and sinking heart of a woman who is smiles with gritted teeth, 😉 I wish you one heck of a time…!!! 😀 😀

    I have all the plans to attend the Literary Meet. I will love to meet you in case the plan materializes.

    Most importantly, (my envy got the better of me :D), loved combing through your pieces. Stumbled across it while searching for the Literary Meet, and for good, for sure!! Keep writing…!!! and yeah.. Have Fun!! 🙂

    Shubhanjali, welcome to the blog thank you so much for your kind words 🙂 I hope the Calcutta Literary Meet proves to be a success, too.

Trackbacks

  1. Notes from a session of the 3rd Apeejay Kolkata Literary Festival « Life's Many Whispers
  2. Waiting for the weekends… | Life's Many Whispers

Leave a Reply

