Skip to content

Fate of a daughter

August 28, 2011

Attempted Murder

I looked at her wide eyes, which seemed to smile at me.

Her small fists settled around my middle finger, never to let go.

Standing in the dark alley, I decided to change the fate of my daughter.

“She will not die, like her two elder sisters,” I resolved.

Flames

“He is the best son-in-law you could get,” they told me. “Good job, decent family background.” I wanted the best for my only daughter.

 I happily, yet tearfully sent my daughter away with him.

 After seven months, she returned to me, burnt and bruised for life.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2011 7:41 pm

    I believe telling a story with depth in 55 words not only requires talent, it needs vision. And you have just the knack for it! Both are poignantly beautiful, as much as they are brutally true.

    Thank you so much! I have found fiction-55 quite challenging and whenever I get a story idea, my first instinct is to try it out in this format 🙂

  2. swayambhu mukherjee permalink
    August 28, 2011 8:32 pm

    Awesome work….reminds me of an incident I happened to witness recently.

    Thank you 🙂 Even I was happy after writing them.

  3. August 28, 2011 9:14 pm

    Correct me if I am wrong.. “they told me” is the key phrase in the second story.. as in ppl who marry off their daughters without proper inquiry of the groom’s family right?? nice 55-fictions 🙂

    Well, I wrote “they told me” to express how the groom was perceived to be a prized catch by ‘others’. But what you pointed out also happens a lot of times. But am sure you know that a lot of bride burning incidents happen in so-called ‘decent and well-to-do’ families…
    Thank you for your appreciation. It feels so good to see my old readers back on my blog and commenting 🙂

  4. August 28, 2011 11:20 pm

    well written,
    doing justice to the topic in 55 words

    Thank you so much 🙂

  5. August 29, 2011 3:13 am

    kind of sad..
    Ironically….I have just come from hospital after seeing a baby girl being gifted to one of my colleagues..a sweet one. 🙂

    Kunal

    Let’s hope that baby girl never knows the atrocities of being a girl child ever in her life 🙂

Leave a Reply

