Skip to content

Ten day You Challenge – Post 9: Two Songs

August 20, 2011

I think I am the only person who has taken so many days to finish what could be finished within ten days! Sigh! I cannot stop when I am just two posts short of completing the challenge.

10-days-you-challenge

I thought hard but simply could not decide how to choose two songs from the millions that I love and sustain on. Recently I went to Digha for a short weekend trip and all of us decided to sing our way into the hearts of the other residents of the hotel in the middle of the night. We we were not thrown out only because the hotel is owned by a family member of one in our group!

We sang songs of every genre, but mostly we sang old Hindi songs. We all realised that the music taste of our parents rubbed off quite a lot on us and we can break into a Md Rafi or a Kishore Kumar number more easily than may be a Sonu Nigam or Abhijeet number and much less a Mika or Alisha Chinoy number!

 

 

This song has been sung by Kumar Shanu and Sadhna Sargam – not really my most favourite of singers, but it makes to the list simply because of the lyrics and the composition. The unhurried music of Rajesh Roshan adds magic to the whole song and lifts the voice of Kumar Shanu to a whole new level. I don’t think much of the movie or the actors, but this lone song stays with me as a classic love ballad. When a man promises to be with you come what may, no other promise can more romantic than that!

I am told that this song was inspired by an English song "500 miles", an equally beautiful song. That makes the music same as the English song, but the Hindi lyrics are different and not a literal translation of the English one.

 

I had to add one Rabindrasangeet to the list but could not decide which among the many wonderful creations of Tagore to include. Again, my night at Digha came to my rescue. We were singing our favourite Rabindrasangeet and when my turn came, I simply could not remember at that moment that one song which has "Aloy" in it and which I absolutely love. So this is the song which says for me, a lot more than just "Amar Mukti Aloy Aloy…" It talks of independence, free spirit and self-liberation alongside sacrifice for the greater happiness. The video has English lyrics, so I urge everybody to try this song.

 

 

A list of two songs is a complete injustice but some day, I will write a full-fledged post on all of my favourite songs. 🙂 Till then, let the music flow in your life.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Prasad permalink
    September 18, 2011 12:45 pm

    Amar Mukthi!!!! Just can’t control ur mind!!! I even don’t know the meaning of it!!!

Leave a Reply

