Skip to content

What happens to a country with a lawyer-heavy economy?

August 2, 2011

A friend sent me a link to an article, which turned out to be an interesting read for me, while I procrastinated to finish some long-pending work in office. The basic premise of the article by Scott Adams is

But what single factor is most predictive of, say, a nation’s fifty-year economic direction? I think it’s the L-to-E ratio (lawyers-to-engineers).
My hypothesis is that the best indicator of long term economic health is the number of engineers a country produces relative to the number of lawyers. A country that is cranking out more engineers than lawyers will trend up. A country that is moving toward a lawyer-heavy economy will grind to a stop

I really wish India would become a lawyer-heavy economy! There would be so many more job options for us then. Nobody would crinkle their nose hearing my profession and I could happily announce to his/her face – "Yes, I am a lawyer.. I hope you know that we drive the economy"!

But too much of any good thing is bad anyways. So if there are too many lawyers and less of others (well, you do know that the world is divided between ‘lawyers’ and ‘others’) then there would be less work for the lawyers, which in turn will prove to be bad for the economy. Let the country have more engineers, doctors, finance professionals etc etc. Whenever they will be in deep soup, they will invariably come to the lawyers! 😉

lawyerjoke

The whole point of this blog post is pretty pointless. I wanted to share that stupid article making fun of a hallowed profession and also write something ‘funny’ for my hundredth post! 🙂 🙂 Oh yes, I have completed a hundred posts on this blog. Moreover, I have procrastinated for too long now and do not feel like doing some productive work and hence, decided to blog instead.

This is also to remind all the nasty people with nasty opinion on my profession that I will not answer your silly queries about stamp paper/registration of conveyance deed/ procedure to get a divorce/how to crack the CLAT etc etc. Keep trying to find the answers.

Now, before I forget – Many Congratulations for a Hundred Posts on Life’s Many Whispers 🙂 🙂 (Patting my own back, since no one else seems inclined) 😉

onehundred

POSTS

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Makk permalink
    August 2, 2011 7:39 pm

    Patting…

    :)..!

  2. swayambhu mukherjee permalink
    August 2, 2011 9:56 pm

    If we were a lawyer heavy economy, we would be earning far less than we do now. Techies, for example, earn peanuts!!!! There may be many more job opportunities, but you wouldn’t want any of them I suppose 😉 Btw, congrats on your 100th post.

  3. August 3, 2011 12:21 pm

    I definitely am inclined – Many congratulations for your 100th Post! 🙂 I wish to reach there some day but that will require some heavy duty posting!

  4. August 11, 2011 1:50 am

    Congrats on your 100th post!

    The US is a lawyer based economy (seems to be) and it aint doing so well… 😛

  5. Prasad permalink
    September 18, 2011 12:48 pm

    Congrats for ur century!!

Leave a Reply

