Skip to content

My Tryst with Harry Potter

July 16, 2011

I am just back after watching the last movie in the Harry Potter series and I thought that I should write my ode while I am still dazed in its after-effect. After all, I went from being a staunch Harry Potter hater to an absolute Harry Potter lover. For me, it all began with the movies.

I was in class VIII when I first encountered the HP hysteria. We used to have a clay modelling event in our school House Competitions (about which I had blogged here). One of the Houses had created what I now know as the Hogwarts Castle along with the three protagonists. Till then, I had just read about the HP craze in newspapers, but that day I realised that the craze was real nearer home, too. I asked a friend to give me a summary, just to understand why it was so popular. She started about magic, witches, wizards, a boy and a villain and I promptly lost interest. By then, I had begun to read Sidney Sheldon and was looking forward to lay my hands on Jeffrey Archer and I did not want to start reading children’s book, again. I guess, I upped my nose at the mass hysteria surrounding the books. Little did I know that one day I ,myself would be a part of it.  

Cut to 2002. I was in class XI and it was Children’s Day. Our school had the tradition of taking all the students to a nearby movie theatre (for those who know, Malancha). I was super excited about the whole thing, till I realised the movie to be screened was "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone"! But my dismay did not last for long. Thanks to the friend who was sitting beside me and who kept up a constant running commentary, explaining the scenes to me, I found myself immensely enjoying the movie. I felt the same amazement as Harry in learning that he was a wizard, laughed at Ron when he could not get "Wingardium Leviosa" right, felt bad at Hermione being teased by the insensitive boys of her class and ultimately realised that if I so loved he movies, then I must read the books.

So, I borrowed the thirst three books, which had released by then, from the school library and finished them one by one. All my previous indifference towards the books and my disdain for "all the girls who love Harry Potter" vanished. Instead, I became a die-hard Harry Potter fan. There was something magical about the stories of the boy who lived. It brought back memories of Enid Blyton.The friendship of Harry, Ron and Hermione in face of adversity reminded me of the Famous Five. The events in Hogwarts was so similar to the boarding school tales of Mallory Towers. The stories were a rich treasure house of all things fascinating.

I was the second person to put down my name in the advance list of borrowers in school when the fourth book released. I read the book continuously, in every class and every waking moment, rushing towards the terrifying climax of the return of Lord Voldemort. I started law school and met like-minded HP fans. Discussing the stories, dissecting events and the characters and wondering for hours whether Hermione will go with Ron or Harry became one of our favourite pass time.

Despite being a fan, I still don’t own any of the books. I have all of them as e-books, including a fake HP 7, which I found on the net. Tired of waiting for the real thing, I decided to read the fake one, which, I realised later, had got all the horcruxes right. The only hitch was that it ended as Dudley being a wizard and a dark one in the making 😉

Just before the seventh book was released, there were numerous discussions in Orkut HP fan forums and other fan sites about the identity of the horcruxes and whether the great secret about Snape was that he loved Lily. I myself spent hours on the net reading the analysis of others and adding my two cents to it. Such crazy were the fans, who had picked signs from all the books to deduce and derive at the ending. May be the only thing that we did not know was the Hallows part, since they were introduced only in the final part.

The day the seventh one released, I did not join a number of others who had pre-ordered the book at the abnormally high price of 900/-! At that time, I was in no position to afford the HP books which were almost always highly priced and this was one series whose pirated version I did not want to buy. So, I did what was next best – downloaded the e-book within 2 hours of its release. Locking myself up in my hostel room, I sat in my uncomfortable chair and encountered the final instalment of a series which I had grown to love and cherish over the years. I got a bit bored with Dumbledore’s life history, wanted the trio to find the horcruxes fast but at the same time, re-read "The Prince’s Tale" twice consecutively. I was vindicated as I had been crying hoarse for some time that Snape was not evil.

Frankly, I was never happy with any of the movie versions of the any of the books. I was always indignant about something or the other being left from the movie, which in my opinion was absolutely necessary. Any die-hard Potter ‘book’ fan will agree with me. But since the movie introduced me to this wonderful tale, I remained loyal and watched all of them. In fact, I, like many others, had began to identify Harry with Daniel Radcliffe. There was a separate charm about the movies. I remembered having high expectation about the on-screen translations of the confrontation at the Ministry at the end of fifth book which turned out to be quite tepid in the movie. Today, I was so hoping to see the final battle at Hogwarts and was sorely disappointed to see nothing extra-ordinary. Those who have applauded the special effects at the battle may have not seen the ones fought in Lord of the Rings! I was indignant at how the movie depicted Hermione letting Harry go on his suicide mission, whereas the book was absolutely clear on this aspect – that none of Harry’s friends would have let him surrender. I would have loved Neville to burst into flames along with the Sorting Hat and then chop off Nagini with the sword of Gryffindor. I would have loved to see the final confrontation between Harry and his nemesis taking place in the Great Hall  in front of everybody else. But then a movie is a movie and a book is a book. The book always leaves scope for a reader to imagine a scene in his own way and so many of us imagine the world of Harry in our very own ways.

For me, the magic of HP ended with the release of the seventh book. Today, the world of Harry ended with the final movie. In between, I have read all the books and watched all the movies (till the sixth one) countless number of times. I will continue to catch a page or two and watch the movies on HBO every now and then and I know that I will never tire of the same.

The books of Harry Potter remind all of us that childhood still exists and as adults, we can always revisit it any time we want along with Harry.                 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2011 11:25 pm

    Good one Debosmita!
    I was literally in tears after I watched the movie yesterday, for me, Harry Potter is no more 😦
    But it’s great being a HP fan 🙂

    Btw, could you forward that fake HP book to me? It sounds interesting 😛

    You know what? I could never imagine you to be a HP fan, from what I know you from your writing 😉 It just goes on to prove how the stories transcend gender/age/personalities 🙂

    Of course, I would forward you the fake one.. will make for a good timepass reading 😉

  2. Makk permalink
    July 17, 2011 12:23 am

    Seems Mr. Potter is in the air..

  3. July 17, 2011 8:56 am

    My tale is quite similar. Was an ardent hater till I saw the movie on children’s day. Loved it. And then polished off the first four books (yes, not three, i think the fourth had released by then) in the next three days.
    I never used to take calls from my HP lover friends when the next few books came till I read them myself, for fear of spoilers.
    And of you’re talking about the fake HP7 where Snape is a baddie and Potter battles Voldy in the room with the veil, yes I have read it too 😛
    I am yet to see this movie, mostly because I don’t want to hurry it. After all, this is it. The end. But it has been a memorable journey.

    Hey, we must be talking of the same movie screening in 2002 Children’s Day, right? Great 🙂
    My mistake.. I was under the impression that fourth book released while I was in class XI… now that you say, it must be the fifth book which I was one of the firsts to borrow from the school library 🙂
    Yes, that one is the fake HP 7!

  4. July 17, 2011 11:44 pm

    I am not a hater at first but I felt it kinda weird when I have see Harry sitting on buckbeak in the stills of Prisoner of Azkaban (my first introduction to Harry Potter).

    Then also I didn’t find any interest in the book with the papers showing people standing in long queues to catch a copy as soon as possible.

    But just before the release of the 6th movie (7 weeks to be precise 🙂 and decided to finish all before the release of the movie:), I thought let me give it a shot and bought pirated copies of first 2 books. Even though it took a little time to get hook of it and once I completed the 2nd book by the 3rd week its all fast paced and completed all the books well before the time.

    And I loved each of the book. Its quite sad that the series came to an end though 😦 Watched the last movie FDFS 😀 😀 and felt happy, proud and sad at the same time 🙂

    I think only HP can give that 🙂

    Its good to know that there are so many converts 🙂 My initial reaction was “I am not going to read children’s book again” since I had just graduated to reading ‘adult books’! I can’t believe how much I love that children’s tale now 😉

  5. July 17, 2011 11:58 pm

    planning to get the original books soon 🙂 🙂

  6. July 20, 2011 9:35 am

    Hi
    Congratulations! The Directory of Best Indian Blogs is out and your nice blog figures in that. We thought, let’s announce that to you.
    Since all blogs do not have emails clearly mentioned, we have taken the liberty of telling you of this by making a comment on your latest blogpost. Hope, you don’t mind it.
    Happy blogging!

    ITB team

  7. July 28, 2011 4:00 pm

    I think I share the same fate as far as Harry Potter is concerned and my story is quite similar.

  8. August 11, 2011 1:48 am

    My brother turned me into a Harry Potter fan. The first movie I saw was the Chamber of Secrets and I loved it. Then I went and read the books – amongst the Sidney Sheldon and other “adult” books, this was a refreshing change.

    And lots of points to you for bringing back good ol memories of Mallory Towers and Enid Blyton! Though my favourite Blyton series would be the “Five Find Outers”.

    Five Find-Outers = Clear Orf! 🙂

  9. August 13, 2011 10:44 am

    I stopped watching the movies after the third one and it sounds disappointing that they didn’t depict the final battle scene the way it is in the book…after all, I thought the reason they split the final book into two movies was so as to stay true to the book. Oh well. It is great though to be able to re-read the books over and over…

  10. September 12, 2011 6:31 pm

    Debosmita, I don’t know you. I simply followed the link on your comment.

    We’re on the same boat. We have exactly the same opinion about the movies. It’s heartening to find someone who thinks the same way amidst all the hype.

    Let’s combine and say “lumos” to the world. 🙂

    Abhishek.

Leave a Reply

