Skip to content

Ten day You Challenge – Post 5: Six Places

June 30, 2011

Now that the numbers have lessened, I have begun to enjoy this challenge more, since, now I don’t have to think really hard ๐Ÿ™‚

Today’s post is about six places –

10-days-you-challenge

1. NUJS Hostel

I have spent five years of my life in this place; its bound to hold a very special place in my heart. I remember the first time I saw it, I was absolutely awed, looking at the beautiful six-storied building. My first room was Room No 103 in the first floor, whose window used to give me a very good view of the common area in front of both the hostels. Then I shifted to Room No 216 in second floor in the next year and made life-long friends with my neighbours. Finally, in my third year, I had to shift to the sixth floor to Room No 615 and stayed there till the end. Marathon movie and series watching sessions, midnight birthday parties, night-long gossip sessions, keeping the bucket in front of the geyser to secure place in the queue for hot water in the winter, rushing through breakfast every morning and carrying the plate and mug to class, by-hearting the mess menu so that we could make alternate arrangements on days of ‘bad lunch’, enduring long queues during dinner on days of ‘biriyani’ and ‘special dinners’, celebrating each and every festival, including Onam, Pongal, Christmas, Saraswati Puja, Diwali, Holi etc with friends, spending nights and days in the Rec Room (Recreation Room) before Annual Day, conducting ‘positive interaction’ sessions (meaning ragging ;-)) in the beginning of every year.. This is turning out to be a post in itself, so I must stop here ๐Ÿ™‚

gals hostel

2. Kashmir

For me, Kashmir is truly heaven-on-earth. Anybody who has visited this place is bound to agree with me, even if s/he has travelled across the whole world. The serenity of Dal Lake, the enchanting whiteness of Gulmarg, the merger of green valley and white snow in Sonemarg, the picture-postcard like Pahelgaon, along with the grim atmosphere of war and strife has remained etched in my mind ever since my visit to Kashmir in 2005.

kashmir Photo of River Lidder in Pahelgaon

 

3. Kolkata

I made Kolkata my home at the age of four. I am so attached to this city, that even if I live somewhere else for the rest of my life, I will never be as attached to that place as I  am to Kolkata. They call it the dying city, the city of ruins, the city of lazy bongs, but for me the city becomes alive in the everyday lives of its residents, the ruins of old buildings always have a story to tell and the lazy bongs sometimes wake up, even as late as after 35 years to usher in a new era. The nightclubs here can be found open even in the wee hours of the morning, long after curfew has been announced in Mumbai and Bangalore, one still gets a tasty and filling meal on the roadside at a much cheaper price than the other metros, people, here are still enthusiastic about international film festivals and international book fairsโ€ฆ I can already hear a lot of dissenting murmur. Its just that, this city with all its flaws, has a very special place in the hearts of all its residents.

 006_kolkata From the internet

4. Delhi

Whenever I say that my next most favourite city is Delhi, I always see raised eyebrows. People cannot fathom how can I like the colonial Kolkata and the modern Delhi at the same time. When I first lived in Delhi, I immediately formed an unexplainable bond with the city. I love the dingy Chandni Chowk, interesting Connaught Place, over crowded Delhi Metro, the sudden monument in the middle of a busy road, the beautiful Lutyens Delhi and the awesome Delhi airport ๐Ÿ™‚ Well, I guess more than all these, I love the city because I feel history is still alive in the corners of Delhi.

 GREEN DELHI--big--1

From the internet

5. Hill station

I love visiting hill stations. Kashmir, Shimla, Manali, Kinnaur, Dehradun, Mussouri, Darjeelingโ€ฆ I love sitting under the shadows of the mighty Himalayas, staring into the white peaks. I love walking down a green valley and throwing stones into the gurgling river. I love all the calmness associated with a hill station. ๐Ÿ™‚

31-05-10_1736

Photo of River Baspa, in Kinnaur district of Himachal Pradesh

6. My Home

Well, home is where heart is and my heart resides with my parents. Wherever they are, that is home for me. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

home-heart

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2011 3:45 pm

    Loved this post – I have always been intrigued by India. Hearing the views of someone who was born there, makes it so much more interesting.

    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ You must visit the country once to fully enjoy its many diversities

  2. Makk permalink
    July 2, 2011 9:58 pm

    aint you traditionally modern? or modly traditional?

    it feel like, a gal from Lutyens Era has walked in this century keeping history close to heart!

    I am a bit of both and yes, I love history so much that I wish I was born in those era ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

