Skip to content

Ten day You Challenge – Post 3: Eight Fears

June 28, 2011

10-days-you-challenge

Writing about fears, right after writing on secrets and loves is so anti-climatic! But a challenge is a challenge and here I pen down my eight fears.

1. Illness – My one big fear is to get really sick and end up in bed/hospital etc. I have suffered from asthma as a child and I remember how I could not sleep during those nights. I hate the times I get a bad cold or a recurring fever. For me, health is truly the biggest wealth.

2. Writer’s Block – Having faced times when I simply could not write anything for years together, I really do not want to go through one more. My irregular blogging/writing in recent times got me really worried and I am now making a conscious effort to write more.

3. Spiders and cockroaches – If there are any insects/creepy crawlies that I truly fear, then they are these two creatures. *shudder*

4. Failure – And by that I don’t mean the general definition of ‘failure’ that society has laid down. I will not consider myself a failure if I don’t have a great job or don’t earn lakhs or fail to bag the best husband. I fear failure at upholding my own values and my own set of ideals that I have given to myself, which will make me ashamed of myself.

5. Losing dear ones – I fear death of my near and dear ones. I fear the accompanying feeling that I will experience in such a case.

6. Betrayal – Another of my fears is being betrayed in trust by people who matter to me, being let down at times of need by people on whom I count. It has happened with me so many times, but I always think positive and hope that this won’t happen to me again. But deep down, I am scared of knowing that once more, I have been betrayed.

7.  Pain – I avoid pain like anything. More than the physical pain, it’s the mental one that I am wary of. I try and make myself invincible to any sort of mental agony, but do not succeed always.

8. Unhappiness – I want to be happy, always, in whatever small and insignificant way. I don’t want to crib and feel depressed and worn out from the vagaries of life. I go to great extent to keep stress and anxieties at bay. I hate it when I experience a particular bad day at work because I hate the feeling of being low. The sense of bliss is truly a god’s gift and I fear losing it.

Till now, this was the toughest for me. I really don’t have any fear of heights or water or darkness or closed spaces – the usual ones that people battle with. So I had to think hard to come up with eight fears. How many of you agree with them? Do you also fear the same?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2011 7:12 pm

    Thanks for stopping by at my blog and reading my 10 secrets. I have done the 9 loves, and will get to this one either tonight or tomorrow.

    I think your fears are valid ones – but because you know what they are, you can face them and deal with them head on.

    I so agree with you on the last point 🙂

  2. June 28, 2011 7:39 pm

    I can relate. Some fears are there in almost every person, whether they accept it or not. Some others are not all that common. Its startling how many of these fears i also seem to have, but the fears itself are not surprising.
    And now everybody knows how afraid you are of bugs 😀

    ONLY spiders and cockroaches!!

  3. June 29, 2011 6:33 pm

    I don’t fear any of the above! 🙂 But to each their own..that is what is makes us unique and different.

  4. Makk permalink
    June 30, 2011 9:17 pm

    God Bless You!

  5. July 12, 2011 10:35 am

    Fear of the unknown is the biggest fear of all. Loved your posts. I too have begun doing the tag. Do stop by.

  6. August 1, 2011 1:09 pm

    I am getting very tempted to tag myself and copy this topic. But I dont know if ill be able to finish it! Nevertheless, I’ll do it 🙂

Leave a Reply

