Skip to content

Nature’s myriad beauty

June 15, 2011

I wake up to the glorious light

And the filtering sun’s rays

Bringing hope into my life

And promising a new day

I stare at the warm light

Soaking in its golden hue

Just then, the alarm rang

To tell me that the day’s due

I hurry to meet the world

In a prim and proper way

And forget to enjoy my coffee

And the morning so gay

I curse and swear at the crowd

And honk my car at them

And the red on the traffic post

For ten minutes, remains the same

I worry about getting late

And speed past the trees so green

Never once stopping to notice

The birds busy to preen

I suddenly see the road

Glistening after the rain

Reflecting the various colours

Of the busy life so vain

The sky looks brilliantly blue

As I peer out to catch

The millions of sparkling raindrops

Playing a rainbow match

I wonder whether it is always

Such a beautiful sight

My everyday busy morning

Comprises moments so bright

As I step into the concrete

I promise myself to see

Tomorrow more leisurely

Nature’s myriad beauty

This post is published as a part of Blogeshwar and Anubhooti in an attempt to appreciate nature more in our daily lives, as we rush to meet our live’s commitments. In our daily grind, we forget that the bountiful beauty of nature can give us as much joy as anything else, when we crib about the unfairness of it all.

The images are all from the internet and the copyright in them belongs to the respective authors.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2011 1:37 pm

    Lovely poem! I also loved how you managed to relate pictures to them…

    Thank you for your comment; and thank Google Images for the pictures 😉

  2. June 15, 2011 5:38 pm

    I LOVE this 🙂
    just what i needed to lighten up my day…

    Thanks, Reetam 🙂 Why do I suspect that you are being so kind just to encourage me?

  3. June 16, 2011 1:47 pm

    Wonderful way to relate how an average man misses out on really appreciating Nature in the humdrum life they lead..reminded me of the line: “What is this life if full of care…we have no time to stand & stare!”
    Loved it!

    The very sentence that you mentioned was the inspiration behind this poem. Thank you 🙂

  4. June 16, 2011 3:13 pm

    I really like the style of this . 4 lines, then picture, then lines and so on. Pictures are exactly matching the image that you are creating in our mind by the poetic lines. Keep up the good work.

    Thank you so much Rachit. You know the hard part was writing the poem, but harder was finding matching picture 😉

  5. swayambhu mukherjee permalink
    June 16, 2011 9:58 pm

    I can only say that its been worth the wait….while on the environment, did you read about Swami Nigmananda’s fast to save the Ganga?

    P.S. Like the pictures too.

    Yes, I did read about it. I am beginning to get a little sceptic about using fasting as a pressurising technique. Thanks for liking my hard work, especially at a time, when writing this one also was quite hard!

  6. June 18, 2011 6:08 pm

    debosmita, awesome poem.. and moreover people tend to break when pics were in-between lines but I always prefer so.. I just love your imagination, the words, and I love your pics.. Awesome ******…

    Hmmm and a point to be noticed, almost all the participants wrote in a poetic way.. ‘Nature’ itself a poem right? Here is my cute tune on nature

    Someone is Special

    • June 18, 2011 6:09 pm

      and forgot to mention, thanks for stopping by my poem.. SmileS..

      Someone is Special

      Oh yes, you are right when you say writing a poem on nature comes so naturally! Thanks for your kind words 🙂 I need all the encouragement right now!

  7. June 19, 2011 11:00 pm

    I always like poems about nature and poems about my city.
    And this one was really nice and refreshing. 🙂
    i’m looking forward to more verse from you…

Leave a Reply

