Skip to content

Compliments always make my day :)

June 14, 2011

And I just received a whole lot of them today, that too from one person and on one aspect of my being.

Avisha Gupta was a junior in law school, with whom I co-authored a research article in my final year for NUJS Law Review. She was a sincere girl, always ready with her share of hard work and willing to burn the midnight oil along with me.

She posted a comment in my blog saying "Its always extremely refreshing to read your posts, like a break from long melancholy. The best part about your writings is its touch of genuineness and simplicity specially how every post is deeply personal and yet not a ‘diary ranting’."

It was not first time that someone was praising my writing. But I was absolutely touched when today, she forwarded me an email that she wrote to her own close group of friends after reading this post of mine.

She also told me to "please keep writing – ALWAYS"!

I have received compliments before, many of whom were on my blog. I have had people commenting on my posts, sending me messages on Facebook and also telling me personally. After I wrote a romantic poem, someone told me that I had given him the perfect words to express his love for his sweetheart. After I wrote a fiction, someone went to the extent of saying that she found it suitable only for a published book. After I won every category in a blogging contest, someone told me that I was the only blogger he used to be scared of throughout the contest. I have had my share of brickbats too, but I have learnt so much from them, too.  

What made today’s compliment from Avisha so so special was that it came at a time when I am battling a very bad form of writer’s (or blogger’s) block for quite sometime. I haven’t written anything of late and even the huge prize money involved in some of the recent blogging contests could not inspire me enough. I tried posting the unfinished drafts but found that I simply lacked the zeal to sit down and publish an entire post. I was getting scared, thinking whether this would be as bad as my previous bout of writer’s block, which continued for 5 long years. Yes, during the five years of law school, I suddenly found myself absolutely unable to write anything decent. It was only after I started working that I regained my lost passion for writing.

From Avisha’s comment, I got the feeling that it was not just me who miss my writings πŸ™‚

I promise I shall fight this ugly monster called writer’s block very hard and shall emerge a winner!

Thank you Avisha and all my readers who connect with my writings.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 8:48 pm

    I was quite surprised when you didn’t submit for the competition. I had been looking forward to it…
    I consider these blocks necessary. Otherwise at some point the special might become mundane. Think of how it’ll feel once you write a really good piece after a lengthy period of not writing. That feeling is brilliant, ain’t it?
    Looking forward to more of your posts πŸ™‚

    Thanks, bro for the faith πŸ™‚ Well, I like the positive way you have put the whole thing… Just that I don’t want to face that 5 year block once again 😦 Hoping for the best!

  2. June 15, 2011 6:18 pm

    Five years is too long. The longest block i have is maybe 6months. Somehow i always start waxing poetry during my exam prep-leave πŸ˜›
    true story.
    If i don’t write for five years, i’ll probably explode or something.

    It was not that I did not ever write during the five years – my previous blog was created and maintained during that time only. But I had to struggle and unlike the time before and after that, it did not come to me naturally πŸ™‚

  3. Avisha Gupta permalink
    June 15, 2011 8:58 pm

    How sweet of you! πŸ™‚

    Looking forward to more of your amazing posts !!

    As you must have noticed, I have started to make a conscious effort already; if I am able to successfully break this block, I will have mainly you to thank πŸ™‚

  4. June 16, 2011 10:44 am

    Ei je. Thanks for the comment on the blog and the FB message. Don’t go admiring and all baba, everyone’s pretty much the same story, give or take a few things. Really liked the poem on nature and thankfully for once, understood it! I usually go cross-eyed with poems. πŸ™‚ Was about to comment on the poem when I started reading this post. Regarding writer’s block: Don’t be pressured either way, but I guess you’ve already figured that. Personally whenever I try to force myself to write I end up producing shit on paper. So I dont write. Longest so far has been five months but honestly there has been a lot of crap I’ve written when I shouldn’t have been writing at all. Enjoy the block and do other things instead of worrying about it. And thanks for reading.

    The best part about blogging is to come across and read such diverse personalities πŸ™‚ I totally adored your post πŸ™‚ And yeah, I have been doing just that all this while – doing other things and not worrying about the block. But I feel now I must make a conscious effort to break it. Otherwise, before I know, a lot of time would just be lost.
    Oh and thanks for liking the poem. I personally prefer simple words when it comes to poetry.

  5. June 16, 2011 10:46 am

    lol. and my name should NOT be reading “clitchatting”. πŸ˜€ It should say JB. That’s from a previous time when Emancipation of Eve was about clit-chatting!

    I almost fell off my chair when I saw the name and the email ID πŸ˜‰ Then I realised it was you πŸ™‚

  6. June 19, 2011 10:58 pm

    Writing is like detox, i think. Even when its hard, its better than not writing. Glad to see you’re keeping it going.
    I’m having my own block now, and it’ll go on for god knows how long. But i managed to write something in bengali. After years πŸ˜› do drop by sometime…

Leave a Reply

