Skip to content

A Lost Friend

April 28, 2011

I sit down after a hard day

Cursing the unfairness of life

Yearning to share the knot of pain

But find no one around except you

Why, my friend, you never leave me?

Even at my worst times, when I hit you with all force

When I blame you and your ways

For all the sorrows which I experience every day

Knowing fully that you have no role to play

Except hugging me and cracking those silly jokes

Reminding me of better times that we had

When we used to share our food, secrets and life with each other

Why do you have to remain the same even now

When our lives are no more like those days

When we live thousands of miles apart

In our separate cocoons

Days, months, even years go by

Without us exchanging laughter

And shared moments of joy

But whenever I sink deep down in misery

I imagine you beside me

And talk to you non stop

Saying what you would have said

How you would have made me laugh even while crying

I become you and console myself

I blame you and hug you at the same time

I tell myself that I have nothing to fear

Since you are again by my side

Every such time, I think of dialling your number

So that the imagination becomes real

But I get scared to think

What if you no longer care?

What if you are more unhappy?

What if you are now cold?

And thus, the moment passes

I again lose you, my friend.

 

All of us have gathered at least a few good friends in our lives. We part ways with some and lose some of them to passage of time. We never remember them in our good times, but whenever we are sad, we miss those old friends. That is the time when we should reach out to connect once again, but we don’t. And life goes on.

I wrote about one such friend I lost and it is being published in "Chicken Soup for Indian Friend’s Soul" by Westland. It has been edited by popular mamma & blogger Baisali Chatterji Dutt and contains stories by many eminent bloggers and authors. It will be officially launched on Friendship Day i.e. August 2011, but you may pre-order it now from Flipkart or Crossword.

CS Friendship

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 6:28 pm

    Loved it. Made me all sad, though. There are times when friends walk away and by the time one realises, it is impossible to call them back.
    But i feel lucky as far as my company of friends are concerned. Even though not all of them are still around, what little time i got with them i still consider precious 🙂
    keep writing 🙂

    Always preserve the ones you have now 🙂 🙂

  2. April 28, 2011 9:16 pm

    Excellent post! I enjoyed reading it very much.

    Poetry will never loose it’s touch even as we enter this digital age. Thanks for sharing.

    A Poem for Mothers

    Welcome and thank you so much 🙂

  3. swayambhu mukherjee permalink
    April 28, 2011 9:22 pm

    All the best for the book…looking forward 2 ur debut as an author of fiction 🙂 And I loved this post….though I’d like 2 say that we usually lose friends because we don’t value them. Dunno iif you’ll agree with me. We often don’t try hard enough to reach out…or understand the other person.

    Thanks! By the way, stories in Chicken Soup are all non-fiction!

  4. Mahesh kumar permalink
    April 29, 2011 12:58 pm

    Loved it . . . Simple lines but huge impact

    Thank you Mahesh 🙂 Good to receive your encouraging comment 🙂

  5. Prasad permalink
    April 29, 2011 7:58 pm

    Heart warming!!!!

    Thank you 🙂

  6. April 30, 2011 7:33 pm

    nicely done. Great to know about CS.. congratulations.

    Thank you GB, I am superbly excited 🙂

Leave a Reply

