Skip to content

I want back…

March 22, 2011
  • the time when I could hit on a guy without having to stress about whether he is older to me or not! (unlike the present times, when I have stopped even checking out men since they invariably turn out be younger or if older, then married)
  • the only time when I would be late in reaching home would be either from a fest or from a night out! (unlike the present times, when I routinely reach home late from office or from a client meeting)
  • the only work I would do on a Sunday would be a bit of spring-cleaning of my own room (unlike present times when I sometimes go to office or to the chamber of a senior counsel or work from home)
  • the only stress in life would be whether I would be able to maintain my CGPA [Cumulative Grade Point Average] (unlike present times when I have to worry about keeping my job)
  • the only responsibility I had in life was to study well and be a good girl (unlike present times when I have the responsibility of serving my clients well, doing all my work perfectly to please my boss and earning well to keep myself happy)
  • the only financial trouble for me was to sustain myself on the meagre pocket money (unlike now when I have to earn well, spend and invest wisely and also do intelligent tax planning)
  • the only times I cried were after watching an emotional movie, reading a particularly sad book or being scolded by my parents (unlike the present times when reasons to cry out aloud are handed out to me almost every moment)
  • the days when I was the queen of multitasking – juggling classes, swimming, internship and research projects together (unlike these days when I fail miserably to juggle even five assignments and three bosses at a time)
  • the days when I could make blanks calls from the landline to another landline and have fun (unlike the present days when mobile phone has robbed me of this opportunity)
  • the days when I wanted to buy all the books from the bookstore but did not have the money (unlike now when I have the money but not the time to read books)
  • the days when visiting the National Library/local library was a regular affair (unlike now, when the last library I visited was my college law library)
  • the days when I would be asked "What do you want to be when you grow up?" (unlike now when I am asked "When do you plan to settle down?")
  • the days when I used to send and receive cards on birthdays/Christmas/New Year (unlike now when all I send or receive are SMS, facebook/orkut wishes and e-cards)
  • the times when I would buy something after one visit to a shop (unlike now when I buy something after researching about the features and comparing prices over the internet and surveying the product in 3 different shops)
  • the times when I used to be scolded for my own fault (unlike now when I get the flak for third parties like the office support staff/boss/client etc etc)
  • the times when I would return from school and immediately call my best friend for chatting some more (unlike now when I am hard pressed to call my close friends even once a month)
  • the times when I would fret for days if a friend broke my trust (unlike now when I hardly trust anybody for them to break it)
  • the times when I used to dream about the future (unlike now, when I dream about the past)
25 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2011 4:11 pm

    I really enjoyed reading this post – it has given me some food for though and made me reflect on some of the things I want back…

    Thank you! Your comment came almost the moment I hit the publish button and posted it on FB!

  2. March 22, 2011 4:32 pm

    I wish the same, *almost* πŸ™‚

    I would love to read your own list πŸ™‚

  3. March 22, 2011 4:35 pm

    ah, we will never be happy with what we have πŸ™‚

    I agree! When I will retire, may be I will miss the anxiety and stress of work life πŸ™‚

  4. Priyanka permalink
    March 22, 2011 4:42 pm

    I wish almost the same thing nowadays. Wishing life was simpler..

    Life will never be simpler again.. it will go on being more and more complex πŸ™‚

  5. March 22, 2011 5:00 pm

    Nice compilation of want backs…

    Cheers,
    Ambuj πŸ™‚

    Thank you and Welcome πŸ™‚

  6. MSA permalink
    March 22, 2011 5:24 pm

    Depressing article. I think one should do what they enjoy and enjoy what they do!

    I am no more depressed, after spitting it out of my system πŸ˜‰ Well what you say is true and is the most difficult to achieve in reality!

  7. March 22, 2011 5:57 pm

    Definitely depressing article. But thankfully i still am more about the things you wrote in brackets and less about the ones outside it.

    Reetam, try and remain outside the brackets for as long as you can!

  8. March 22, 2011 6:39 pm

    too good mam!………i especially liked the last one……its sad…but so true, that we stopped looking at the future with hope and anticipation!

    and i also want back those days, when i used to write letters to my friends (and get replies too) and my grandparents :)…before the advent of email!……letters r so very special….u tend to read them 10 times and still feel their freshness.

    but yes….lets try n make our lives eventful enough to make us look back at our present times too….n miss them equally badly πŸ™‚

    Now with letters, you brought back so many memories! I know what my next post will be πŸ˜‰
    That was a nice way to look at things – to make our present as colourful as the past so that we can miss these days in future πŸ™‚ Eternally optimistic, must say πŸ˜€

  9. Anirudh permalink
    March 22, 2011 7:29 pm

    It seems that nearly all your frustration/ despondency is linked to your workplace. It’s time you did either of these (a) quit and find a less stressful job (believe me, there are those around, just look at me πŸ˜› ); or (b) keep a stiff upper lip, square up to your boss and ask for a month off. It’s really not worth ruining these years of your life working 16/7.

    The rest follows – friends, books, spare time, hobbies. That’s why it’s called “work life balance”. Law firms don’t understand that phrase.

    I know and understand what you say πŸ™‚ Strange it is, but my life nowadays is only about work! All that happens are related to work!

  10. Prasad permalink
    March 22, 2011 7:54 pm

    the days when 100 rs is a lakh and another 50 a miracle!!!

    50 is still 50 now a days..

    Credit cards??? Netbanking???

    Those days when I could buy a whole lot of stuff with a hundred rupee note (unlike nowadays when almost nothing comes for that amount!)

  11. March 22, 2011 8:02 pm

    Ei re! Outside brackets or in brackets? Which one? I intend to remain in brackets, at least in some respects, even when i start working.

    Oops! I meant inside brackets πŸ˜‰ Pardon my small mistake. May you remain as you are πŸ™‚

  12. March 22, 2011 8:12 pm

    Permission to use your post on my blog with suitable commentary? Loved your post. But too much to come up with something like that on my own. Ami total lyadh khor πŸ˜€

    Sure! I just demand a linkback and suitable acknowledgement πŸ˜‰

  13. March 22, 2011 8:19 pm

    Deal. Something this weekend. Unless i feel more lyadh settling in, in which case i’ll go to the cafe and do soon.
    Your post had a couple of lol moments. Quite a few, actually… Reminded me of someone i knew…

  14. March 22, 2011 9:34 pm

    Dear Smits,

    How are you girl..? i enjoyed reading about you. Just one question,
    when are you settling down :p

    Hey Ghaz πŸ™‚ Thank you πŸ™‚
    To answer your question, as soon as I find someone πŸ˜‰

  15. March 22, 2011 9:39 pm

    Totally loved it.

    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Thanks πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  16. March 22, 2011 10:13 pm

    The last 4 are the worst. But trust me, its just a phase you’re going through…..and people go through worse. Also, its not too difficult to call up friends…when you’re on your way 2 office, or leaving for home, try and find some time. And stop cribbing about work. If people screw you for other people’s faults, ignore it for God’s sake!!!! You’re being made the fall guy for the sake of your boss/firm’s reputation…..IGNORE!!! And there’s no such thing as a workplace that does not stress you out. Okay, there are, but just a handful, no more!!! So just learn to ignore certain things that are happening to you. Difficult, I know, but that’s the way the world is, dear. You either survive or perish. But you can’t run away.

    Thanks for saying its just a phase πŸ™‚ I think and hope so, too πŸ™‚ Calling people while travelling has its disadvantages – call drops, too much noise, you also have to keep a sharp eye on the cabbie etc etc. Well, I also know that people will always try to pass on the buck on you. I have learnt to deal with it. Yes, I agree – I cannot and will not run away. And I shall not perish either πŸ™‚

  17. March 23, 2011 10:21 am

    How I wish those times come back… 😦

  18. March 27, 2011 11:27 pm

    http://superhero-blues.blogspot.com/2011/03/remembering-ahead.html
    Here you go. Hope you like it. Do leave a comment when you read it. Kichu changes korte hole bolo πŸ™‚

  19. SomeDay you will miss today permalink
    March 29, 2011 2:23 pm

  20. March 30, 2011 4:30 pm

    We all wish the good things in life to never change though sadly some things do go down with time. Growth happens mostly with loss of innocence

  21. Phoenix of East permalink
    April 8, 2011 2:05 am

    The saying goes β€œthe happiest person is one who has a good health and short memory”. Your past is worth remembering only if it motivates you to change your present in positive manner. I strongly believe, one can live life in his own terms but the only question is to what extent one is ready to go.
    Again some body has said β€œwe do not live for survival but live to outshine out neighbours” .The preconceive notion that we must need to do certain things to make our life happy, has on most occasions taken us further away from actual happiness.

    I do not think u ar in trouble because of your Job. A smoker can not do good to his health by just switching to a new brand of cigarettes. You need to explore ur inside to find the cause and get the remedy or may be u just know the cause and the remedy but just finding it difficult to execute it in your life. Life is inherently complicated and it will remain so, until you become sure of your priorities and gear up to go considerable extent to fix it.

    Some body has opined that β€œit is just a phase of your life”….yes most probably it is so, but the only difficulty is, may be after sometime you will just givein or someway adjust to ur present way of life or worse become content being made hostage by the circumstance. I think you should never let that happen…need to keep the lights on.

    I think u ar a highly spirited person, so my advice will be, don’t become a prisoner of your own life, do what u really want to do, even if for that you have to take some radical steps.

    In my humble opinion, God has given us this life not because we need to be like Mr. X or Mr.Y or to achieve X or Y statues but to live a life in most filling manner in what ever way our unique self defines it.

    Whoah! the best advise is what I can call this πŸ™‚ I shall remember your words – “don’t become a prisoner of your own life” Thanks πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  22. April 9, 2011 8:21 pm

    Very well written. I too dream about the days I spent in school and college. Life was really enjoyable during the school/college days. Nothing can replace those good times.

    Thanks, Tanushree! I so agree with you – those golden day! *sigh*

  23. April 20, 2011 2:59 pm

    I call the moments as the gaining of intellect and losing innocence. That’s why I always wanted to give back my intellect in exchange for my innocence πŸ™‚

    I want to keep both! Can I? πŸ˜‰

Trackbacks

  1. Compliments always make my day :) « Life's Many Whispers
  2. Remembering ahead | Thoughts of Rain

Leave a Reply

