Skip to content

A tag about Movies/Music/Books

March 20, 2011
tags: , , ,

Before you point out, I have to confess that I feel guilty about neglecting my blog for such a long time. I have my reasons – the usual ones being work pressure and related stress, but I have posted regularly and even participated in a marathon blogging competition, Bloggers Premier League at a time when I was neck-deep in work. Now I have a two-day weekend due to the festival of Holi and have decided to make the most of it. Just when I was wondering what to blog on, I came across this tag post by Preeti Shenoy. Before you jump at me saying that I do a tag post every time I post after a long gap, let me point out that all my tag posts have been superb fun πŸ™‚

First, here are the rules of the tag –

1.The tag has three parts..Movies, Music, Books

2.Write the name of a movie, song and book with each alphabet of your first name. They should be one that you really liked. If you say why it matters to you, it would be great! We will all discover new songs, movies and books this way.

3.Tag as many people as there are letters in your name. (if your name has 4  letters, you have to tag 4 people and so on)

4.Mention that the tag originated here and leave a comment to this post, so that I can go and read πŸ™‚

5.Copy paste these rules.

 

MOVIES

D – Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge. Made me wish for "Mere Khwabon mein jo aaye" throughout my teen; made me shed copious tears at the end; made me constantly hum "Mehendi laga ke rakhna" at the age of 11, much to the amusement of my mom.

E – The Exorcist. A cult horror movie for a scary movie buff like me.

B – The Bridge on the River Kwai. One of my most favourite war movies from my childhood.

O – Once Upon a time in Mumbai. For Ajay Devgan. For the over-the-top dialogues. For the lovely music. For an entertaining 3 hours.

S – Sholay. For innumerable reasons, which need not be spelt out. 

M – Mitra, My Friend. The first truly cross-over film I watched. The concept of chat friend. Shobhana’s acting. Revathy’s direction. A wonderfully feel-good movie.

I – Iqbal. Superb story. Excellent acting. A touching cinematographic experience. 

T – To Kill a Mocking Bird. I can watch it again and again for Gregory Peck; and the story which changed the course of my life.

A – Astitva. For Tabu’s acting. For a sensitive story. For the perfect ending.  

MUSIC

D – "Daaaarrrrrling!" from the movie "Saat Khoon Maaf". A woman’s unabashed proclamation of love. A riot of colours on the screen. A heady mix of Usha Uthup and Rekha Bharadwaj. 

E – "Every night in my dreams, I see you I feel you" from the movie "Titanic". I was introduced to Celine Dion and was hooked for life.

B – "Black or White" by Michael Jackson. A social message in the form of good music, killer dance moves and an awesome video. 

O – "O Humdum Suniyo re" from the movie "Saathiya". My fab combination of A R Rehman and Kunal Ganjawala. A fresh pairing of Rani Mukherji and Vivek Oberoi. An always-hummable song.

S – "Summer of ’69" by Bryan Adams. The timeless music about friendship, restless youth and growing up.

M – "Maine Pyar Kiya" from the movie of the same name. A young, handsome Salman and a coy Bhagyashree. S P Balasubramaniam and Lata Mangeshkar.

I – "Inhi Logon ne" from the movie "Pakeezah". The magical combination of Meena Kumari and Lata Mangeshkar. The playful rendition of a prostitute.

T – "Thank you for the Music" by ABBA. My favourite song by one my most favourite bands.

A – "Amake amar moto thakte dao" from the movie "Autograph". We all want to say "Let me be" at some point in out lives and with this song, we have found the best way to say it.  

BOOKS

D – David Copperfield by Charles Dickens. It was a text book in class VIII and I loved it so much that I borrowed all his books from the school library and finished them. I still remember how much I hated the manipulative Uriah Heep. 

E – Eleven Minutes by Paulo Coelho. I have been exposed to ‘adult’ writings since quite a young age (14, to be exact), but this book was a revelation all together when I read it as an adult. There was something about Maria and her simple ambitions which made this, perhaps the only one by Coelho which I like.

B – Bibar by Samaresh Basu. One of the most controversial Bengali books. I was caught reading it midway at the age of 16 and have been unable to finish it till date.

O – On Balance by Leila Seth. What began as an autobiography about one of the foremost woman judges of India, turned out to be the inspiration from where Vikram Seth wrote A Suitable Boy. Lata Mehra is his mother Leila Seth, with a few differences.

S – Sea of Poppies by Amitav Ghosh. The first part in a trilogy, this one caught my fancy for its perfect description of Bengal of the bygone era and the promise of a great tale in making.

M – Mrinalini by Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyay. A love story set amidst a historical war background made for a compelling read and introduced me to my most favourite Bengali author.

I – If Tomorrow Comes by Sidney Sheldon. Tracey Witney is the kind of woman I admire – not for being a con but a strong-willed, independent and clever woman.  

T – The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand. The first time I was hooked onto a book and how! No one beats Howard Roark in the role of the ideal man, not even John Galt. 

A – A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry. A touching, poignant tale about four different people with their fates intertwined during the Emergency era is one of my most favourite books of all times. 

 

Damn, my name is so long that I spent a considerable amount of time thinking of what all to write! Phew!

Now its too much for me to think up nine people to tag. Hence I tag the first nine persons to comment on this post, along with all of you who want to take it up.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 12:49 pm

    Thank you for doing the tag! I did enjoy reading the post.
    Our taste in everything seems to be so different except for one or two (like humdum suniyo re)

    Vive la difference! πŸ™‚

    Cheers
    preeti

    Hey Preeti – thanks for creating this wonderful tag πŸ™‚ I am always game for anything to do with favourite books, movies etc. Good that my answers were different, you would have been bored to death seeing the same stuff in all the blogs πŸ˜‰

  2. March 20, 2011 5:06 pm

    Hey, what do I do if an alphabet is repeated in my name? A comes twice in mine. Good post after a lon….please don’t neglect your blog ever again!!

    Think of two movies/music/books to write about πŸ˜‰ I never want to neglect my blog.. just that sometimes few other stuff take priority. Now go do the tag πŸ™‚

  3. March 22, 2011 11:57 pm

    ohh cummon who is against tags!! they are always fun to read and tells a lot abt a person…means it has been ages that i have seen movies like “bridge on river kwai” and “astitva” on someone’s list…lovely taste!!

    and i was almost waiting for ‘A fine balance’ on the books list…means it is a kind of novel that completely suits ur sense of choice…nice!!

    I agree! Fun tags are fun to do πŸ˜‰
    Thank you for appreciating my choices πŸ™‚ If you linger on my blog longer, you would know more about my never-ending love for “A Fine Balance” and “The Fountainhead” – they are present in every post related to books πŸ™‚

  4. Prasad permalink
    June 1, 2011 7:28 pm

    Nice list!!! And thanks for suggestions..

    To Kill a Mocking Bird – The only perfect novel adaptation. Try ‘My Cousin Vinny’ for a comedic courtroom drama..

    Exorcist – One of the few which are ‘really’ scary..

    “Black or White” – MJ!!! Nothing comes closer to his albums!!

    The Fountainhead – Read it after this post.. a good one..

Leave a Reply

