Skip to content

A Decade of Bygones…

December 31, 2010

New-Year-2011-wallpapers-5-

As this year comes to an end, one exciting decade in my life will be over. It has been the most happening period of my life, with equal doses of ups and downs. It saw me come of age, taste success, experience bitterness, welcome happiness and fight darkness at the same time. Before this chapter closes, I thought of putting down the highlights – some of which I will cherish and some I wish I would forget.

 

  • 2001:  I was in class IX and it was one of the most happening time in my school life. I was made the class-captain and my dictatorship knew no bounds πŸ˜‰ It was the year of feeling ‘grown up’ in school since we were considered the senior-most in all school activities. It was also the year of Board Exams prep and I grappled with the vast syllabus. I had the pressure of expectations of family and teachers and it was one difficult year academically. Coupled with the fact that I knew this would be my last in that school, it was also hard for me to reconcile to the fact that I would leave behind all my friends made in the last 12 years and the familiar comfortable surrounding of my school in a matter of days.

 

  • 2002: I passed my class X Boards, but not with the expected grades. I joined a co-educational school affiliated to ISC Board and struggled to cope with everything new. I fell in love with my new school and Sri Aurobindo’s philosophy touched my soul. I made new friends, a few admirers and some enemies. A whole new world of friends opened in front of me when I joined tuition classes. Despite my good grades in Biology, I gradually began to lose interest in medicine as a career and discovered a new interest in law.

 

  • 2003: It became the lowest point in my whole academic career with low marks and low self-esteem. I battled a wholly different kind of discrimination and finally realised how wrong I was in choosing some of my ‘friends’. Back at home, I finally managed to convince my parents that shutting the door on medicine will help me realise my dream in law. All in all, too much uncertainties brewed into my life in this year.

 

  • 2004: This year convinced me that even the darkest overcast sky does have a silver lining. I secured a seat in National University of Juridical Sciences after an all-India entrance test even before my class XII Boards was over. My class XII Board result was just as I had expected and fulfilled my parent’s wish for a "ninety-plus" aggregate. I started a new life at law school and hostel. Overall, a dream year. πŸ™‚

 

  • 2005: It was a year of a few gains and a few losses. I made some wonderful friends, with whom I spent the wonderful college days; I made some wrong choices in friends, which led to some unwanted moments in life. I overcame my initial jittery relationship with law and began to fall in love with it.

 

  • 2006: Each and every year at law school was special to me for diverse reasons. This was my third year in law school, which brought all-new experiences for me. And I finally discovered the joys of social networking when I joined Orkut, after a brief stint at Hi5! I experienced a whole new world beyond Yahoo Mail, Gmail and Yahoo Chat. Since then, its been Facebook, Linkedin, Blogger, Twitter, Skype and now WordPress later, my love affair with the social network is still on. :-)    

 

  • 2007: End of 3rd year and beginning of 4th year in law school. In between, I scored a first – went to Delhi for an internship and stayed away from home for 6 weeks. It was one of the best times I had – exploring the city with friends, a trip to Agra, savouring food of Delhi along with a little bit work. It was one fun-filled six weeks, in the course of which I fell in love with the historic city.

 

 

  • 2009: Right in the beginning if the year, I bagged a job. I passed out of law school with overall satisfactory performance. I left hostel, my home for the last 5 years on 24 March to return home and joined work on 1 April! I succeeded at my personal battle and gradually found my old self. I realised life is what you make of it and not how others try to mould it. I started blogging again, this time in this platform and rediscovered my passion for writing. I ended the year with much happiness and love.   

 

  • 2010: This year was more of professional life and less of personal time. Despite the maddening pressure, I found some time to write and won some blogging accolades. A lot of it came from Blogger’s Premier League and I made some wonderful friends through blogging. I attended our Convocation and had some wonderful moments with friends and family. An academic book on Forest Laws, on which I worked since college was finally published. My story got selected to be published in Chicken Soup for Indian Friend’s Soul, soon to be published by Westland Publishing. I finally learnt how to drive and successfully passed the test. Some lows dotted a series of highs but could not overwhelm them. I end this year with much hope for an even better new year.

   

As the year comes to an end, I pray for good luck and good health for all my friends, family and my readers who have stuck with this blog all this while. I promise to myself to write more often, to fulfill more of my dreams and to be more focussed. Happy New Year to all! 

2011-new-year-wallpapers 

Clicking on all the hyperlinks will take you to the relevant blog posts for more details.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2010 9:04 pm

    Beautifully written. Really wish I could write like you too…express my thoughts this beautfully. And I so hope that you’ll succeed in keeping your promise to yourself – especially the bit about writing more often πŸ™‚

    Thank you πŸ™‚ and yes, I hope to keep all promises made to myself πŸ™‚

  2. January 1, 2011 3:39 pm

    That was a great reflection on the past decade…
    Happy New Year Debosmita…hope this decade is wonderful too… πŸ™‚

    Thank you πŸ™‚ Happy New Year to you, too πŸ™‚

  3. January 1, 2011 6:30 pm

    beautifully and very candidly written.

    I always try to be candid about whatever I write in my blog, keeping in mind privacy issues of others πŸ™‚ Glad that you liked it.

  4. January 4, 2011 2:30 am

    Very successful
    Greets people thanks for post really helped me

  5. Anusuya permalink
    January 4, 2011 6:56 pm

    Wonderfully penned as usual.The best in the decade should be you started blogging!

    Thank you! thank you! If I may correct you, it should be me re-starting blogging πŸ˜‰

  6. January 12, 2011 3:40 pm

    Greets people thanks for post really helped me

Leave a Reply

