Skip to content

In loving memory…

August 14, 2010

of my desktop.

My first computer, an assembled desktop, bought for 24,000/- in 2004 was given away today.

Its already in bad shape and the monitor has gone blank, may be the Motherboard is also affected. But it has wonderful memories associated with it.

The acceptance letter of my law school specifically mentioned that we should have adequate computer proficiency. I had hardly studied computers in school – unless you consider LOGO and BASIC that were taught in class V! Sometime in school, I made my friends tell me how to operate MS Word and Powerpoint, since I was fascinated by them. Apart from that, I had absolutely no knowledge of computers.

I took the pre-condition mentioned in the acceptance letter seriously and decided to enroll myself for basic computer courses in Brainware Institute. But, those were the days of freedom – I had finished school and about to join college, where I would go away to live in hostel. Vacations, paying visit to relatives and catching up with friends were what kept me busy and I missed my classes regularly. Thus, at the end of 3 months, within which I was squeezing in the course of 6 months duration, all I knew was functional knowledge of the operating system of Microsoft.

The moment I landed in law school, I knew I lagged far behind than everybody (not only in computers but in basic knowledge of law, too, since I didn’t take any preparatory tuitions). The rigorous schedule of law school demanded that I get my own computer very soon. Hence, within two months of joining college, I was the proud owner of a desktop computer.

Now came the difficult part. At every step, I faced problems and had to request my friends for help. During my first project submissions, in my first semester, I had finished typing all five papers by 3-30 pm on the submission date, whereas the deadline was 5 pm. Now all I had to do was take printouts. Right at that moment, my brand new printer refused to work. Completely lost, I went to my friends, each one of whom were busy trying to finish their own projects. By that time, I had tried all suggestions offered by them, but to no avail. I missed the deadline. Finally, I caught hold of a guy friend, who gave me the printouts from his printer and submitted them the next day, thereby losing 0.5 marks in the process. 🙂

Over time, I taught myself more about computers, gained knowledge and learnt new things. My tech-savvy friends and the computer guy are the ones to thank. My computer invariably used to give me trouble right before any kind of deadline and I had to call for the computer guy to come and repair the machine. While he used to be at work, I used to barrage him with questions, thereby learning the problem, possible solutions and the cure. He must have loved having such an attentive student and used to identify parts inside the CPU for me.

Thus, I learnt about my desktop. It has served me as a faithful companion in all my endeavours- be it academic related or something completely different. It stored all my research papers, articles, ebooks, scores of music and movies and lot more. I used to spend hours, inside my room, perched on my chair and watching oft-watched movies once again, finishing seasons of different TV series or finishing ebooks one after the other.

When I had to shift rooms or finally shift out of hostel and return home, I dismantled my desktop and re-mantled it all by myself. I could fix small bugs myself. I had formatted and reloaded OS more than once. I started blogging and became comfortable with internet, viruses, trojans and how to battle them. I graduated from floppy disk to CD to pen drive and recently an external hard disk.  

Today, to give it away, along with all its memories was painful. I simply hope that all my data, movies, music can be taken out from the hard disk, so that I can reclaim even a little bit of the 5 year long memories.

On a more serious note, IHM is grieving the untimely and shocking death of her daughter Tejashwee, and the whole blogosphere is praying and wishing her all the strength. I was a reader of both IHM and Tejashwee and its simply painful to think that Tejashwee’s blog will never be updated.

May her soul rest in peace forever.       

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2010 1:21 am

    🙂 Desktops are to open source what laptops are too proprietary software! You can tweak it the way you want and learn so much in the process 🙂

    I got my first desktop in 2000 and its still doing its job pretty well….although i have upgraded almost all of its parts 🙂

    Well written!!…certain THINGS do become a part of our life….rather a part of us!

    I so agree! Mine was with me for 6 years and its been kind of my first love. I was introduced to computers through it. There are so many incidents related to it at every step of my life. My friend reminded me on FB that because my comp used to give me trouble just before project submissions, I began to finish all my projects at least one week before deadline 🙂 I used to be the first person in my class to do so 😉 and then used to watch movies etc on my comp 🙂 College life!
    Thanks, Mayur for dropping by!

  2. Prasad permalink
    August 17, 2010 1:35 pm

    That was sad! It always seems like it was living with us, and ‘they’ cry when u give them away!
    My dad bought me a bike in 2001(I was 16!), my dad won’t allow me to drive out of his sight for 2 yrs, untill I took licence. Just to go round my street (just 259 kms in 2 yrs!). Still now I believe that my bike is alive!

    I so agree… Some of the stuff we own become so much of a part of our lives that they become our friends (or constant companions)…

  3. August 26, 2010 6:08 pm

    I know how one feels when they lose something which stayed with them for years. But we all know “Changes are unavoidable”. As of now, you are staying in WordPress platform, but after some years, we may take a better platform than WP, and you may force yourself to go there.. 😉

    Enjoy.. and nice writing..cheers! 🙂

    • debosmita permalink*
      August 26, 2010 9:04 pm

      Welcome 🙂 You are right! I migrated here from Blogger and let’s see where we go from here.. and thanks 🙂

  4. Saurabh Panshikar permalink
    September 11, 2010 11:24 am

    Aah Digital Nostalgia!
    I am still using my old PC and I have bonded with it so much, that even a brand new laptop given by dad couldn’t make me let go of it…

    Sadly its become old too and keeps spewing new error msgs everyday…

    Even I remember the days of BASIC and LOGO. Pen Up, Pen Down…

Leave a Reply

