Skip to content

Bits and Pieces from Childhood

April 27, 2010

One more tag post, this time created by me πŸ˜‰ May be it has been done before, but I am yet to come across one. In this tag, I post 3 special childhood memories which are long lost among drudgeries of life.

1. Reading adult books

I started reading books since the age of 5, right after I learnt the basic alphabets in both Bengali and English. I was a super-hyper kid and my parents knew that if they hand me a book, I would sit quietly with it in one corner, forgetting all my antics. By the time I was 12 years old, I had finished reading pretty much all that a kid of that age group would read.

Both my parents were voracious readers and hence used to subscribe to a number of literary magazines, especially the Autumn Special Issues. I used to be very curious about the stories therein, since I was forbidden to touch those books.

I remember how I used to read them at all possible opportunities. Whenever my parents used to go out, I used to stop studying and open one of those. Once I got caught by my mom, who declared that from then onwards, no book fairs and books (of my age group) for me. Obviously the adult books also got locked out of my reach 😦 I didn’t miss out on much due to my school library, but I failed to make my parents understand the simple fact that no book is adult.

For the records, I read my first Sidney Sheldon novel when I was 14 [Tell Me your Dreams] β€œShesher Kobita” by Rabindranath Tagor when I was 15 and β€œNa Hanyate” by Maitreyi Devi (based on which the movie Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam is supposed to have been made) after my Class X Boards. For the uninitiated, these two Bengali novels, among many others (all of which I have read) are considered β€˜adult’ in middle class Bengali household. Add to this, some of the novels by Sunil Gangopadhyay and Buddhadeb Guha, all of which can safely be termed β€˜adult’. In fact, I finished Buddhadeb Guha’s famous novels like β€˜Madhukori’, β€˜Sobinoy Nibedan’ β€˜Koyel-er Kacche’ while in school. Thank God that my parents did not know what all I was reading in English πŸ˜‰

books460

2. Local playground

I stayed at a certain locality from the age of 4 (ever since I shifted from the North-east to Kolkata) till the age of 10. It had a huge playground and all my afternoons used to be spent there. I used to return home from school, freshen up fast and run to the playground. I was the leader of all the kids of my age and younger and would decide what game we would play every day. My favourite pastime was exploring corners of my locality and fight with the neighbourhood boys. Not a single day passed without me picking a fight with the boys on some issues or the other, be it on sharing the ground or using the swing exclusively or such other petty issues. I made some really good friends during those days, who were my constant playmates. I now realise that all my leadership skills (if any) were developed and honed using those friends as guinea pigs. I always missed the playground after I shifted to my present home, where I could never have the kind of local friends I had previously.

seesaw

3. Classroom antics

As the class-captain, I never asked the class to stop talking; instead I used to close the door and myself indulge in gossip. I once bunked class to watch a inter-house badminton tournament in school, along with few other friends. Later, I was caught by the class teacher, who expressed serious doubt on her own decision to make me the captain. πŸ˜‰ I had once broken a tube light in the corridor while playing tenniquet and got away with it. I always used to read story books beneath the desk in any boring class. I once listened to cricket commentary over FM radio sitting in the last bench in a Maths class during an Indo-Pak Test Match and almost shouted β€œSaeed AnwarΒ is out” in excitement. I used to finish off my own tiffin by third period and used to eat out of others’ tiffin boxes during the lunch time. In primary classes, all my report cards used to carry the remark β€œShe is extremely talkative”. I can go on and on and make it into a full-fledged post. After all, these are just the tip of the iceberg of β€œclassroom antics” by me πŸ˜‰

classroom

I tag Americanising Desi, Chatterbox, Gyan Ban, Psych Babbler, Nadia and anybody reading this post. If you take this tag up, please leave a comment behind so that I can read it.

[All images are from the internet]

22 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 11:33 pm

    An amazing childhood u had, I swear…reminds me, I once smashed a French window in school when in Class 8 with my head πŸ˜‰

    • debosmita permalink*
      April 28, 2010 10:15 am

      Reminds me, while in class III, I was part of a group who smashed the glass door of one classroom! One of our friends got quite grievously injured in her hand… Smashing doors is quite common in boys’ / co-ed schools, but it is rare to hear of such hooliganism in girls’ schools πŸ˜‰

  2. April 28, 2010 1:01 am

    Yay, you tagged me! *hugs* BUT, what am I going to write when we both practically have the same childhood stories to share? Well, except for listening to cricket commentaries in class (because I don’t really like sports). But the adult books and being talkative! It felt as if I was reading my own childhood memories πŸ˜€

    • debosmita permalink*
      April 28, 2010 11:39 am

      That gives you an incentive to think hard and come up with the childhood memories which are not common with me πŸ˜‰
      It feels nice to know there are people with shared memories πŸ™‚

      • April 28, 2010 4:23 pm

        So I’ve had to think hard and was finally able to post my own childhood memories πŸ™‚

  3. priyanka permalink
    April 28, 2010 7:32 am

    adult books… i know the feeling… I had a hard time hiding sidney sheldon and taslima nasreen books borrowed from friends while i was in vi… i remember my mom’s horror when she found that i had read ” gone with the wind” when i was in class ix !!!!

    As for classroom antics… your class almost made us miss our ‘special assembly’.. ‘coz we were practising our song during class hours!!

    • debosmita permalink*
      April 28, 2010 11:43 am

      Welcome, sweetheart… you would know a whole lot of my classroom antics πŸ˜‰ Special Assembly has so many special memories… Remember the politics that went into everything related to Special Assembly? From topic selection to who would be the presenter and who all would go up the stage to sing! (sigh) Those were the days πŸ˜€

  4. April 28, 2010 10:55 am

    Lovely post. Very beautifully written. Reminds me of my childhood too πŸ™‚

    This is what my childhood was like, hope you like it
    My Childhood πŸ™‚

    • debosmita permalink*
      April 28, 2010 11:57 am

      Welcome & Thanks πŸ™‚ Read your post too..

  5. May 1, 2010 4:27 pm

    It’s always nice to see childhood and it’s presence in blogs !
    Well I am scared of you the class captain, who read adult books πŸ˜›
    BTW, do you read comics now ? πŸ˜‰

    ..escape !

    • debosmita permalink*
      May 2, 2010 9:34 pm

      Welcome! I am a voracious reader, so I have read comics and adult books alike… but I must say that I am not too fond of comics except Tintin…

  6. May 7, 2010 8:44 am

    such a happening childhood u had ….
    … enjoy ur writing – fast n interesitng πŸ™‚

    • debosmita permalink*
      May 8, 2010 11:08 am

      Thanks, Sharmila and welcome πŸ™‚

  7. May 12, 2010 4:19 pm

    Hi!! I really like your blog and appreciate your simple and lucid style of writing. Make for a pleasing read! check out my blog sometime and I’d be glad if you could tell me what you make of it πŸ™‚

  8. Sourabhi Sircar permalink
    December 29, 2010 10:17 am

    Wow.. It reminds me of my own childhood.. πŸ™‚

  9. January 20, 2011 8:02 am

    Other than adult books and being talkative, i think we don’t have anything in common in school life. My acts were very silent, not necessarily deadly. . . But thinking of your acts either we would have been very good friends or bitter rivals if we studied in the same school. Loved the post as usual. .

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 20, 2011 4:52 pm

      “Bitter rivals”??? I doubt! I think we could have been good friends πŸ™‚

  10. February 12, 2011 7:55 pm

    I am short of words, I wanna praise you like anything. The things you have described makes one feel nostalgic. I wish I get to read such awesome memories. Thank you πŸ™‚ !!

    • debosmita permalink*
      February 16, 2011 1:08 pm

      Thank you Animesh πŸ™‚ Childhood memories are always treasured πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Bits and Pieces from Childhood «
  2. Confessions of a cricket-aholic | Life's Many Whispers

Leave a Reply

