Skip to content

A Lazy Sunday

April 18, 2010

A lazy Sunday has been rare for me. There was a two-day unexpected holiday in the middle of last week on the occasion of Ambedkar Jayanti and Bengali New Year; but unfortunately I spent both days working crazily and running against time to do an urgent matter on Friday 😦 When we finally got a favourable order (from the Court) on Friday, I told my client that I have had enough of their urgent matters (they always come to us only for “urgent” matters which have to be done overnight) and that they should arrange for extra goodies for me – e.g. premier show of their films (they are a production house) 😉 They have promised me one for their next film! yoohooo 😀

My working Saturdays kill half my weekend anyways. Even before its starts, my weekend is half over spent in office 😦 This Saturday, I was also struck with a feverish feeling. I was hoping to take off early, but a pile of pending works also had to be finished.

That left me with the Sunday, i.e. today. I have been going out on most of the previous Sundays – be it to my dentist, or a conference or to catch a movie. I vowed to stay put inside my house today and prayed that no last-minute conference is scheduled.

One more activity that has been keeping me busy for the last few holidays at home is cooking. My mom feels that my present cooking skills are not enough to please my future husband and in-laws (whoever they are and wherever they are now, look, what I am going through for all of you!) and have been making me slog in the kitchen. Jokes apart, she has not been keeping too well herself, and hence my stint with the kitchen chores, just to ease her load a bit. Since I was ‘feverish’ today, coupled with the fact that she has recovered, I was awarded a lazy Sunday, after a l-o-n-g time 🙂

I slept till late (7-45 am is late in my household where the day begins at 6/6-30 am), skipped swimming, read the newspaper for 2 hours, watched ‘The Count of Monte Christo’ and ‘Spiderman’ on television for the umpteenth time, slept like a log in the afternoon, again watched television and chatted with my mom in the evening, saw KKR’s hopes of a berth in the semis being dashed by CSK’s awesome victory against KXIP and yes, now blogging about the day.

I am loving it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 12:45 am

    don’t you think sundays without a wee bit of work feel numb?

    • debosmita permalink*
      April 19, 2010 12:29 pm

      Sometimes, yes.. but not at a time, when I am dying for a Sunday ‘without even a wee bit of work’ 😉

  2. April 19, 2010 2:50 pm

    Hope you are feeling better today 🙂

  3. April 21, 2010 5:50 pm

    Wish u many such sundays 😀 (apart from the fever, that is)

    And the next time I’m in Kol, I’ll make it a point to drop in to your place for lunch/dinner. I know your cooking might just end up killing me, but I still want to give it a try 😛 Khawatei hobe, bole rakhlam

    • debosmita permalink*
      April 21, 2010 6:47 pm

      No chance! My cooking skills are only for the privileged ones (as those mentioned in the post) and no one else 😉 I plan to commit few murders in my life and you are not included in that hallowed list. So, chuck your plan…

Leave a Reply

