Skip to content

I am a Woman, so…

March 8, 2010
  • I am a woman, so you will not let me born
  • I am a woman, so you will give my share of nutrition to my brother
  • I am a woman, so you will not send me to school
  • I am a woman, so you will only make me learn household chores
  • I am a woman, so you will enrol me in singing and dance classes, to make a perfect woman out of me
  • I am a woman, so you will choose soft options for me as my graduation course
  • I am a woman, so you will ask me questions if I am late in coming home
  • I am a woman, so you will dictate what I should wear
  • I am a woman, so you will whistle at me on the road, even if I am clad from head to toe
  • I am a woman, so you will use words like ‘babe’, ‘chick’, ‘item’ for me
  • I am a woman, so you will take advantage of the late night and deserted road and rape me
  • I am a woman so you will forget that I belong to your family, before molesting me
  • I am a woman, so you will give me lecherous looks in the discotheque, while sitting with your girlfriend
  • I am a woman, so you will  discuss my anatomy with your friends after a drinking session
  • I am a woman, so you will find it difficult to believe that I can be your boss at workplace
  • I am a woman, so you will easily dub me ‘loose’ if I smoke, drink or go out with guy friends
  • I am a woman, so you will always think that I must have compromised myself to reach the top rank in office
  • I am a woman, so you will always objectify me
  • I am a woman, so you will ask me whether I am a virgin before deciding to marry me
  • I am a woman, so you will find it hard to digest that I can be more successful than you
  • I am a woman, so you will slap and hit me, if I do not listen to you
  • I am a woman, so you will obey only your father and not me
  • I am a woman, so you will reserve seats in the bus but also eve-tease me in the crowd
  • I am a woman, so you will reserve seats for me in the Parliament but not take my opinion into account
  • I am a woman, so you will create an International Women’s Day to celebrate womanhood and then forget all about it the very next day

This Post was selected as one of the top posts with maximum points in Colors Magazine’s “Best Post of March 2010” Contest. Check out the results here.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. parama permalink
    March 8, 2010 2:22 pm

    liked reading it…

  2. March 8, 2010 2:51 pm

    Nice post. I agree with most of the things you have written but I suppose we should stop complaining and start living. Just because we are women it doesn’t make us weak. We have to stop complaining and become strong.
    What say?

    • debosmita permalink*
      March 8, 2010 4:22 pm

      Of course, we should stop complaining.. This post was just to highlight the conditions women still face, at an era when the world celebrates International Women’s Day!
      To borrow your words, I am a woman, so you will be mistaken if you think I am weak 😉

  3. March 8, 2010 3:21 pm

    Beautiful..

    Loved it…

    • debosmita permalink*
      March 8, 2010 4:23 pm

      Welcome! and am thankful that you loved it 🙂

  4. March 8, 2010 5:20 pm

    well-written! and i totally agree… 🙂

    • debosmita permalink*
      March 9, 2010 10:29 am

      Welcome 🙂 and thank you so much 🙂

  5. March 8, 2010 5:35 pm

    very hard hitting…..why dont show this spirit more often?? Couldnt have agreed more with the contents of this post….

    • debosmita permalink*
      March 9, 2010 10:30 am

      Let me not unleash all my hard-hitting ness at once 😉 Thanks for your comment 🙂

  6. Avisha Gupta permalink
    March 8, 2010 11:34 pm

    Too good! Loved loved loved it 🙂

    • debosmita permalink*
      March 9, 2010 10:31 am

      Thanks you 🙂 (glowing with happinness)

  7. March 9, 2010 2:46 am

    Happy womans day…:D

    • debosmita permalink*
      March 9, 2010 10:27 am

      Can I say “same to you”? 😉 Thanks for your wishes 🙂

  8. March 9, 2010 5:45 am

    You seem to make some very good points, wish there were more blogs like yours.

  9. March 9, 2010 7:49 pm

    Hardhitting like swayambhu said………..gotta agree with nethra that one should strong and face the world…..totally agree with you on anointing a single day to celebrate any such day actually!

    • debosmita permalink*
      March 11, 2010 5:00 pm

      I feel quite strongly on such issues; hence the post turned out to be bit more hard-hitting than what I intended 🙂 thanks for dropping by

  10. March 10, 2010 10:37 am

    A telling post really. Never thought of these things seriously.
    Dedicating a “single” day to celebrate women’s day seems silly to me. Very thoughtful of you to write this post.

    • debosmita permalink*
      March 11, 2010 5:02 pm

      May be the cliche is true – you shall realise such things only if you are a woman… but I am glad I made you think 🙂
      Celebrating a single day as International Women’s Day doesn’t help at all.. it just hypes up women’s issues for a day and then everything is buried from the very next day…

  11. March 12, 2010 7:32 pm

    This is indeed a hard-hitting and harsh post, Debosmita! It clearly highlights the shocking realities about attitudes towards women in the society…

    Nowadays, women are competing with men shoulder to shoulder and proving to be very capable and efficient. I do agree that men have incorrect and discriminatory idiosyncrasies towards women and that’s really wrong.

    At the same time, I also feel women should change their beliefs about themselves and their staus in the society. Our thoughts make our reality… And if women believe that they are equal to men and just in their manners, then it would be a great society to live in.

    Your post made me think really hard and I completely agree to your viewpoints. Awesome observations. Brilliant work, Debosmita!

    • debosmita permalink*
      March 13, 2010 1:37 pm

      Thank you so much, Parth… I am happy to know that you gave my viewpoint a thought and I feel that my objective is fulfilled..

      Women have advanced in society because they believe in themselves and their worth; and I agree with you that a change in belief is the surest way to bring in a change.

  12. March 12, 2010 11:50 pm

    hmm, very hardhitting post indeed Deb.. (hope that’s ok, ur name is wonderful, but a bit long!)
    i agree with Parth when he says women and men are shoulder to shoulder these days in almost every field! good views that u have expressed! 🙂

    on another note, we seem to have exchanged votes at Blog-A-Ton this time. thank u for voting for me, i was wondering if i’d get one or go duck out at my first time at BAT 🙂 following your space now 🙂

    • March 12, 2010 11:51 pm

      ohh… sorry, LEO here! 😉

    • debosmita permalink*
      March 13, 2010 1:18 pm

      Your gravatar says you are Leo 🙂

      Women have come a long way in making their lives equally worthwhile and have advanced in all possible ways. Just that this is not the reality for all women out there; its a known fact that some women still face all that I have mentioned in my post.

      Thanks for the ‘follow’ 😉 and I really loved your post for BAT and it was awesome to know that it was reciprocated 🙂

  13. March 13, 2010 11:19 pm

    Adding this article to my favourites.

  14. March 18, 2010 10:26 am

    Well, I find nothing that hard. Just Truth.

    because if its so hard to say here, how could people have done these things??

    Not at all Hard.

    Keep smiling gal.

    • debosmita permalink*
      April 23, 2010 4:27 pm

      Thanks, Makk… All these were just plain hard hitting truth 🙂

  15. April 23, 2010 1:28 am

    Heyya! Came here thru ColorsMag and amazing post!!!

    I have some or the other woman in my life, who has gone through things on that list and GOD! it always leaves me SO pissed! 😐

    The worst part is when a guy gives u a look that plainly says “Im a guy. I can do this. You are a girl. You cant.” Feels like hitting them over the head or something! 😐 Yes I drink and yes I have guy friends. SO WHAT?! Just yesterday, I was walking home, and a girl happened to drive by on a bike, and the guys in front of me acted like they had just seen a martian!

    Though some guys are slowly awaking to the fact that we arent the “fragile fairer sex” anymore, there are many others that are still drooling in their sleep. Hope they wake up soon.

    Cheers,
    Annie. 🙂

    • debosmita permalink*
      April 24, 2010 10:30 am

      Welcome, Annie 🙂 and thanks for your cheerful support 🙂 I feel strongly about it and its always good to see others who endorse the same views 🙂

  16. Prasad permalink
    July 15, 2010 12:23 am

    That’s brilliant and mind blowing!!!

    Again a stereotype comes here!

    I m not sure but it may be like,
    “I am a woman, So someone… “

    • debosmita permalink*
      July 15, 2010 4:15 pm

      Stereotypes exist when it comes to women (and men too). I just tried to highlight some of them through my post.

Leave a Reply

