Skip to content

Being Alone

February 10, 2010

j0255382

Being Alone means the 30 minutes walk early morning, when I can stare at the old surroundings and find new stuff to wonder about each time.

 

Being Alone means the 10 minutes spent every morning getting ready, conversing with myself and humming my current favourite track.

 

Being Alone means the 10 minutes walk to my workplace, passing through the same locations and acknowledging the same traffic sergeant, who once admonished me for running across a busy road. 

Being Alone means spending hours, while waiting for a matter to be called on for hearing, when I can admire the architecture of the High Court at Calcutta, discovering a new corner in its corridor every time I trace a different path.

Being Alone means the 30 minutes taxi-ride back home, when I invariably end up in either of my two extreme moods – super elated or extremely cribbing, depending on how my day was.

Being Alone means the 10 minute time I spend with myself before falling asleep, with random, weird, totally unrealistic thoughts making circles in my mind.

2910_woman_alone_be_402423t

Being Alone is sometimes fun, necessary for introspection and at other times, melancholy and boring. For me, it’s what I usually cherish most in a day.

 

Photo Courtesy: Google Images

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 4:11 pm

    I can totally relate to this post! Those ‘being alone’ moments are sometimes so very precious.

    PS: I love the beach photo. Is that you?

    • debosmita permalink*
      February 10, 2010 4:33 pm

      No, the photos are from google images…forgot to add the disclaimer…

      I am slimmer than that girl in the photo 😉

  2. February 10, 2010 6:49 pm

    I’m someone who likes to be left alone…to stay alone, usually… a bit of a loner….but it does feel weird at times too. Guess the line between being alone and being lonely is a thin one, no?

    Also, am sure you knew that the girls in the photos resemble you?

  3. February 15, 2010 7:18 pm

    Enjoy while it lasts….later in life even if you wish to – you cannot be alone…

  4. Prasad permalink
    July 15, 2010 7:09 pm

    Excellent post/poem/passage/essay/**** it suits in everything!!

    If I read this one when I was 6, It could have turned me into something different! Because I was sent to boarding school at that age for that age and still seeking comeback! School, then college and now job.. I even forgot the appearance and the color of my house, never seen most of my cousins, even a girl in my neighbour hood thought I was a serial killer and went to jail!

    Being alone for some time is good but all the time is dangerous!

  5. Biplab Gupta permalink
    October 16, 2014 12:53 pm

    Ehy You like High Court Building or Hon’ble High Court at Calcutta?

Leave a Reply

