Skip to content

A Love Letter – (Blog-a-Ton 6)

January 9, 2010

This post has been published by me as a part of the Blog-a-Ton 6; the sixth edition of the online marathon of Bloggers; where we decide and we write. To be part of the next edition, visit and start following Blog-a-Ton.

Before reading on, I would request you to first read my entry for Blog-a-Ton 4 here, since this post is a sequel. Without having a look at the first post, this one might not make too much sense. Cheers πŸ™‚

Anushka, my love,

I don’t know why I am replying to your last letter now; I know I do not need to, after almost two months. I have already spoken to you the very next day after the incident. But I feel there are lots of things that remained unspoken then.

I was disturbed when I read that you expect me to break up with you. Hence, I thought I should tell you now why and how I fell in love with you. I was the super brilliant law school senior, on whom scores of girls had a crush on. I was the typical hero-worship material – class topper, excellent in debating, captain of the university football team and.. a little good looking, too. I never had the time for any girl in my life then, and I was not interested in anyone, too. That, I guess, made me the most eligible and sought-after single guy on campus. I used to be cornered by girls, approached in the guise of request for academic help and even propositioned openly. But I never cared a damn.

Then one day, I received your letter! I could not believe my eyes that anyone could write a letter in this century! I must confess that I loved your letter- each and every word, the style and the language. I could clearly picture a person through those sentences. I imagined you would sit on your table, rest your chin on one hand and write neatly, in perfect handwriting, words which conveyed your whole personality.

blogaton6

You wrote to me on behalf of your friend and beseeched me as to why I was not paying any attention to her fervour proclamation of love. I was curious and wanted to meet you to know whether what I thought about you was correct or not. I remember cornering you in the corridor the next day, asking you to meet me at the cafe for discussing your friend and…the rest, as the clichΓ© goes, is history πŸ™‚

I never told you this, but believe me, I guess I understood you more not because of our frequent dates but from all your letters. I realised you were vulnerable, soft-spoken, emotionally scarred with a longing for care and love; even though it was not apparent on your ever-smiling face. You wrote in your last letter how you never expressed to me the neglect that you suffered throughout your life, but I guess, I always knew the bitterness. I always had this supreme urge to hug you and ease away all your pain. Did I ever tell you that I love you like no one else? I want to protect you from all worries and neglect; and give you all the warmth and affection I am capable of.

Never ever think of killing yourself again. Didn’t you think for once how it might affect me? I know there have been issues between us, due to the distance, but all that is past us now. When I received your last letter, I remembered your first letter to me and I immediately realised that instead of those international phone calls, we should have conversed only through letters. I can read your soul in them. And I see mine in them, too.

When Ayush called me next day to inform me of the incident, he also told me something else. He told me that he always shared with you whatever love he received from your parents, by loving you with all his heart.

You just have to extend your hand, and you shall receive all the love that you always craved for, but missed till date because you were blinded by hurt and bitterness.

Yours and yours only,

Randeep

The fellow Blog-a-Tonics who took part in this Blog-a-Ton and links to their respective posts can be checked here. To be part of the next edition, visit and start following Blog-a-Ton.

42 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 11:15 pm

    Hey what incident? You left it hanging in the air?? Not fair! 😦
    But still it works well. Excellent interpretation of the picture. Loved it.
    All the best for Batom!
    Cheerios! πŸ˜‰

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 10, 2010 11:18 am

      As I said, this post is a sequel to my entry for BATOM 4, I have referred to the incident mentioned therein…

      Glad that you liked it… thank you so much πŸ™‚

  2. noone permalink
    January 9, 2010 11:30 pm

    “…….. we should have conversed only through letters. I can read your soul in them. And I see mine in them, too.”

    – So TRUE.

  3. January 10, 2010 1:50 am

    A nice sequel. Letter writing is a lost art in this de-sensitized, purell sanitized world. All the power to people who strive to keep that lost art going. Nice post.

    PS : Noticed Anita Bora blog rolled by you ; have to thank her for my current post..

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 10, 2010 11:19 am

      Thanks πŸ™‚ Yes, I love reading Anita’s blog; and I loved how you used her photos in your post..

  4. January 10, 2010 1:54 am

    Ouch… perfect effect…:D

  5. January 10, 2010 4:58 am

    I want someone to write such a letter to me. It was beautiful. I couldn’t stop myself from smiling as I read it. It touched my heart. I gotta say that you are too ..too… very romantic. πŸ™‚
    But sad you broke up for whatever reason that I couldn’t get from the post.
    Why did she have to marry someone else or go with someone else leaving a guy like you? Well! Thats not something I should be bothering about.
    Nice post. πŸ™‚

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 10, 2010 11:21 am

      Thank you so much πŸ™‚ Please read my entry for BATOM 4, this post is a sequel and as I gave the disclaimer in the beginning – this one will not make much sense unless you read the previous one..

  6. January 10, 2010 10:33 am

    Beautiful! Me likes. Very touching!

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 10, 2010 11:21 am

      Welcome and thank you so so much πŸ™‚

  7. January 10, 2010 11:15 am

    Letter writing is truly an art πŸ™‚ The whole snail mail setup was awesome. Even better was the ‘waiting in anticipation’ part …and just when the wait would be put to halt by the arrival of the letter, the heart would become hyperactive by palpitating..Somehow E-mails fail to give that feel.

    As for the way you have concluded, i agree..bitterness blinds people and sucks out the happiness out of any sort of relationship.. Good one πŸ™‚ Good luck with BATOM 6!

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 10, 2010 11:23 am

      Yes, I agree… in the case of a snail mail, you wait for a number of days, your anxiety heightened with every passing day… but with the email, its just a matter of seconds before you click on it..

      Welcome to my blog and thanks πŸ™‚

  8. shaz87 permalink
    January 10, 2010 12:06 pm

    πŸ™‚

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 11, 2010 9:59 am

      πŸ™‚ Shaswata, I already know how you feel about the post… keep visiting πŸ™‚

  9. Ushasi permalink
    January 10, 2010 1:37 pm

    This is beautiful!

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 11, 2010 9:58 am

      Thanks for dropping by and glad that you liked it πŸ™‚

  10. January 10, 2010 3:20 pm

    Loved the sequel just as much as I loved part one of this story… πŸ™‚ Great work as always….you manage to touch the right chords…

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 11, 2010 9:56 am

      Thank u, thank u (bowing deeply) πŸ˜€

  11. January 10, 2010 8:36 pm

    interesting read! a lill formal tho’

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 11, 2010 9:56 am

      Thanks πŸ™‚ I took the formal approach since the guy is revealing his true feelings to the girl for the first time; and also to convey his feelings properly…

  12. January 11, 2010 12:04 pm

    Interesting!

    Sequels thru BAT? New thing yaar! We can have a contest between ppl who can weave all the BAT topics in one post!

    All the best

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 11, 2010 3:54 pm

      Thanks πŸ™‚ Actually I was at a complete lost as to what to write for this BATOM.. then had an idea to use the previous BAT post and wrote this one in some 30 minutes, only so that I could participate this time…

  13. January 11, 2010 2:01 pm

    Don’t remember BAT 4 post. Will have to re-read it. Email is as good as snail mail if one uses it with sensitivity and depth. Many blogs I read (not only in BAT, but even elsewhere) are too good. I think we have to overcome the fascination for pen writing, because in our life time we may not have it again like we had in our childhood.

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 11, 2010 4:03 pm

      The link is already given.. please do go through it… and although I agree with you that there are some really good blogs around, when it comes to communicating, emails simply do not seem to have the same effect as that of a letter. For one, in a letter, you can see the handwriting, which is much more personalised…

  14. January 11, 2010 2:17 pm

    Nice way of penning a sequel! Brilliant idea!

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 11, 2010 4:03 pm

      This brilliant idea was conceived only because I had no new idea for this BAT πŸ˜‰

  15. January 12, 2010 3:51 pm

    Loved the flow of thought. Very nice.

    Good luck for BATOM6! πŸ™‚

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 13, 2010 10:17 am

      Thank you so much for dropping by πŸ™‚

  16. January 13, 2010 12:07 am

    Yay! I remember the BAT4 post without reading it! Missed u in last BAT and here u come with a bang this time! I loved this sequel a lot! Awesome re πŸ™‚

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 13, 2010 10:18 am

      wow, Shruti, you remembered it? I am honoured πŸ™‚ and thank you so so much…

  17. January 14, 2010 7:56 pm

    Hi, plz sign in to the comments section before pasting the code.. It will wrk thn..

  18. prashansa puranik permalink
    January 15, 2010 8:10 am

    Very emotional.You reached my heart here.Both your letters are nice. But I liked this one better.In my school and college days me and my best friend used to write letters to each other even after spending almost whole day together as that was the best way to express one’s feelings correctly without disturbance!I am going to write her letter again today!! Thanks a lot!

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 15, 2010 3:41 pm

      Thank u so much.. even I used to write letters to close friends, especially after we used to have a fight and none of us would be relenting to talk first! After exchange of some 4-5 letters, we would then make up and start talking again πŸ™‚

  19. January 15, 2010 12:22 pm

    And yeah, plz revote, havn’t receivd ur cmplete vote, it just reads ur link,not the person who u r voting for.. Will rtrn soon to read this post.. seems vry nice reading the above cmmnts πŸ™‚

  20. January 15, 2010 12:42 pm

    Nice sequel and quite interesting interpretation…..
    Unique one…

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 15, 2010 3:39 pm

      Thanks, Mahesh.. was waiting for your feedback πŸ™‚

  21. January 15, 2010 6:43 pm

    This post has to be appreciated, because you managed to connect two posts (written in the span of 2 months, probably) extremely well. The pain can still be felt, but this one was not so intense as the first (maybe because I don’t appreciate perfectly platonic love because I fell it doesn’t exist) but the pace and the narration was enough to satisfy the emotions within πŸ™‚ This post is a sure contender in my voting list for this edition of Blog-a -Ton

    Cheers! πŸ™‚

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 16, 2010 10:49 am

      I don’t know why you say it was platonic love; I was just portraying a long distance relationship, where words fell insufficient to convey certain emotions. This is a love letter from one guy to his girlfriend and no, there is no hint of any platonic love anywhere… though I have deliberately not given any hint of anything otherwise, too. That can be saved for another post πŸ˜‰

      But thanks for your appreciation πŸ™‚ glad that u liked it..

      And I wrote this post in a mad rush.. even at places, I felt I was not being able to express as intensely as I could do in the previous post… so you are perfectly right in your opinion.

  22. Anusuya permalink
    January 16, 2010 12:04 am

    I loved it!words are better written thn spoken…….sometimes!

    • debosmita permalink*
      January 16, 2010 10:49 am

      thanks, yaar πŸ˜€

  23. September 5, 2010 4:00 pm

    This was lovely Debosmita,
    Got here from Weblog post πŸ™‚
    Excellent writing. Love your blog!

    • debosmita permalink*
      September 6, 2010 12:20 pm

      Thank you so much! Glad that you liked it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

