Skip to content

Picnic!

December 8, 2009

Picnic at Raipur

The management of the office chartered bus, by which my father has been travelling to office for the past 7 years and which I also joined, organised its annual picnic at Raipur, near Kolkata last Sunday. I have been attending this picnic almost every year as family for quite sometime, but this time I attended it as a member myself! I guess, we were the only father-daughter duo members of the Bus šŸ™‚

A quaint house with green lawns located just beside the river Ganges hosted some 60 of us for a day full of activities and fun. After our fill of kachori, alu dam, chicken pakora and coffee, we went exploring the neighbourhood. The collage above depicts the treasures that we discovered ā€“ a temple, burning ghat (and a white human bone just beside it!), pottery factory, an auto announcing the staging of a drama, brick kiln factory, ladies making papad, riverside activities and much more. Lunch comprised of all my favourite dishes ā€“ rice, yellow daal, finger chips, mixed vegetable with fish head, bhetki fish curry with cauliflower, mutton curry, chutney and rasogolla! And after the end of lunch, my mother observed for the first time, that I have gained weight since I left college! and kept on nagging me on this point throughout the day šŸ˜‰

Despite warnings of my parents, who sometimes tend to forget that I am well past age of minor hood, I joined some others on a river cruise in a boat. The boatmen were happy to let some of us row and I rowed the boat for the first time, for full five minutes, after which my arms began to hurt. Wonderful experience!

A day, which cannot be described enough in words and best left to be experienced through pictures šŸ™‚

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2009 4:33 pm

    I must say this is a great article i enjoyed reading it keep the good work šŸ™‚

    • debosmita permalink*
      December 10, 2009 3:02 pm

      Thanks, Sue…. and welcome to my blog šŸ™‚

  2. December 8, 2009 10:37 pm

    “The collage above depicts the treasures that we discovered ā€“ a temple, burning ghat (and a white human bone just beside it!)” Lawyers are often compared to vultures, but surely, this is not the reason why?!?!?!??

    • debosmita permalink*
      December 10, 2009 10:40 am

      White human bone is a treasure only in the sense that not everyday and everywhere can you find one… right? and not because I am a lawyer comparable to a vulture!

  3. December 11, 2009 7:21 pm

    This collage is beautifully done. šŸ™‚

    • debosmita permalink*
      December 14, 2009 1:01 pm

      All thanks to Picasa šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

