Skip to content

Understanding Men and their idea of Love

October 21, 2009

I never understand the psychology of men when it comes to interpreting feelings and love. Over the years, I have concluded that their idea of love is absolutely hopeless.

I have always been a friendly girl; friendly with both boys and girls. I don’t have the usual inhibitions in interacting with the opposite sex and I can start a conversation with anyone anywhere. There used to be a time when I had more guy friends than girls. But things always went out of control when some of my guy friends started to read too much into my friendliness.

“You were smiling so much while talking to me that day. I thought you were interested in me”!!!! Uggggh, I don’t think it is good manners to be grumpy while talking to any one.

“You said I was looking good, so I thought you like me”!!! Hello, I was paying you a simple compliment.

“You were staring at me and discussing me with your friends in class that day. So I told my friends that you are hitting on me”!!! Wow, dude, I was staring at the pigeon poop on your head and was having a good laugh over it with my friends.

And so on and so forth. I always used to hear from different people how I am hitting on ten different guys at the same time, just because I am friendly with ten guys. What happened to plain and simple friendship? May be that age was to be blamed. At 15-18 years of age, it feels nice to have a girl being friendly with you. So you conjure up an image of you two together and since it always sounds better if the girl likes you rather than you liking a girl, you proclaim to the world that yes, a girl has fallen for you.

And what happens to that girl? She suddenly finds herself being dubbed as some one with loose morals, who is characterless, who hits on different boys each day etc etc. All these for being friendly!

Its not that always that an action on my part triggered rumours. A guy who, for me didn’t exist till that day went around saying how pally we were and how I have professed my liking for him. Mind you, I have never even spoken to him! I wanted to give him a good piece of my mind, but he never faced me after he found out that I knew of his stories. 

I sometimes wonder at the irony that if a guy goes around with ten different girls, its “cool”, but the same guy will immediately condemn a girl who is “known” or “rumoured” to have been with a number of guys. Hypocritical, is it? After all, men will be men.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Mainak Sankar Maiti permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:48 pm

    Aah, don’t be too harsh. Actually, I have come to observe, that the “Rule of 3” is

    • Mainak Sankar Maiti permalink
      November 24, 2009 9:50 pm

      (sorry, clicked on the enter button accidentally) the rule of 3 is very much true for both male and female psychology.

      • debosmita permalink*
        November 25, 2009 9:54 am

        Rule of 3??? Didn’t get you…

  2. Mainak Sankar Maiti permalink
    December 13, 2009 10:50 am

    The Rule of 3 states that, whatever a man says or feels, is generally a product of his overflowing hormonal reactions, so simply divide whatever he says or expresses or shows by three. Same is applicable to women, only in their case, we have to multiply by three instead of dividing. This rule, though is primarily applicable to romantic aspects of life, I have found it surprisingly accurate in other general aspects too.

    • debosmita permalink*
      December 14, 2009 12:54 pm

      Simply put, a man usually exaggerates, right? I agree with you, wholeheartedly 🙂 (And you don’t have to divide this response of mine by 3 😉

  3. Mainak Sankar Maiti permalink
    December 15, 2009 8:25 pm

    no, I will have to multiply your response by 3, coz last I checked, you were still a woman 🙂

    • debosmita permalink*
      December 16, 2009 12:49 pm

      ohh… yes, misunderstood you 🙂

  4. Prasad permalink
    July 15, 2010 12:11 am

    Spoiler! The man inside me is not agreeing!

    May be you are right!

    Woman completes a Man

Trackbacks

  1. Hello, Sweet Sixteen « Life's Many Whispers

Leave a Reply

