Skip to content

How I discovered Food Panda

February 22, 2014

Since the day we moved into our rented apartment in last week of December 2013, I jumped headlong into “proving to all that I can also cook despite never doing so earlier”.

Despite not having appropriate supplies for a proper meal, I continued my culinary experiments with quite success and little disaster! I diligently photographed all that I cooked and sent them to both set of parents with a message – “I am feeding both myself and MH (aka My Husband) very well and stop worrying about how we will starve to death in the absence of a cook” :-) My culinary journey can be a blog post with lots of pictures, which I shall post another day.

Then, I had to start bringing work home in the evening, since I could not stay at office late in the evening (the reason being I stay in Gurgaon and commute via auto). On days there was nothing in the fridge and loads of office work to finish, I would be tired from preparing a meal and would drop off to sleep without finishing any office work. On such days, MH would suggest eating out while being extremely lazy (especially when it comes to dressing up and going out in the night just to eat dinner), I would opt for ordering in.

But I hated to order in pizzas.. day after day!

Then, Food Panda came to my rescue. This is a website with lists of restaurants in the neighbourhood from where I could order a home delivery online, free or for a nominal delivery charge; and sometimes avail of the discounts that are offered.

And much to my delight, it had a variety of restaurants apart from pizzas and sandwich joints. North Indian, South Indian, Italian, Oriental, Desserts – seek and you shall get them all from a choice of 3000+ restaurants!

images

On days and nights I did not cook, I logged into foodpanda.in,  typed in my location, selected my restaurant, browsed through the menu and decided on my order. Then I could either pay online or cash on delivery and enjoy a hassle-free meal without having to step out of my track pants. The site also gives the option of picking up the order after the designated time given or schedule a pre-order for a certain date and time.

Their mobile app is also available in the Google Play and Apple stores, giving one the convenience of ordering on the go.

foodpanda-mobile-app-image

Food Panda delivers in 19 Indian cities (including Delhi NCR, Chennai, Kolkata, Ahmedabad, Jaipur, Pune, Chandigarh etc) now and expanding to more in near future. It is also available in 20 countries worldwide and expanding to eight more including Croatia, Bulgaria, Tanzania and Uganda this year (Source this news article).

food-panda-global-footprint

For me, this online food ordering website has added more variety in my life without compromising on the convenience. :)    

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2014 2:49 pm

    Nice post , i hope everyone , will like your post

  2. March 17, 2014 2:50 pm

    Your article is very helpful thank you very much for sharing .

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

